Whole Wheat Pumpkin-Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Used splenda for both sugars. Added dried cranberries per another review. Doubled the recipe to use a whole can of pumpkin. Still had to add some add'l buttermilk to make it the right consistency. Didn't have applesauce so put pears in a food processor as a sub and it worked great. Omitted the oil too. Doubled recipe and used in mini-loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I love that these muffins contain applesauce AND whole wheat flour. It gives them so much more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Yum. I wanted a good muffin recipe in a hurry, that was nice enough to take as a a holiday gift for our vet's office staff. I made these exactly as written except added almost a 1/4 cup of craisins and about 1/8 cup of sunflower seeds. To dress them up a little, I ran a stick of butter over the tops and sprinkled them with white sugar. They looked pretty and scrumptious---which, by the way, they are. I am sure I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I will be making these again, today, with some tweaks. I did not make the recipe as listed so let me give the details. I made a test batch 3 days ago. I am making a batch today for a holiday party tomorrow, hence the test batch. I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 all purpose flour. For the party I will be doing that again but hope to make them with 100% whole wheat for here at home someday soon. I don't stock pumpkin pie spice so I added 2 tsp cinnimon, 1/2 tsp ground ginger and 1/2 tsp ground nut meg. I knew from experience this wasn't enough spice but my brain was mushy that day and I didn't listen to myself. The muffins turned out wonderful in a light pumplin flavor and I adore the dense texture. However, the spices probably need to be trippled to be tasted. No spice taste what so ever with the small amount I used. The muffins were even more flavorful (but not spice wise) the next day. I see that I could have stretched, if needed, the recipe into 18 muffins. I really like the texture and the generous size the 12 muffins it makes. As with most recipes one should make them their own with personal tweaks. This recipe is a keeper for me with some tweaks I plan on making in regards to the spices. Thank you for posting this whole wheat recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Deer Park, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I left out the white sugar and substituted the raisins and pecans for chocolate chips. These were delicious and quick to make. Thanks for a great healthy kid-friendly recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
i also subbed leftover mashed sweet potato & they were still great....even picky kids liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Delicious muffins. I took the advice of other reviewers and left out the white sugar. They would have been too sweet with it. I used cranberries instead of the raisins and pecans. They complemented the pumpkin very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Great, moist muffins. Followed the recipe without the optional raisins and nuts. These were gone before the other, not as healthy, muffins at work today. Love the texture and flavor that the whole wheat adds. Thanks for a wonderful muffin recipe - these baked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I only rated 4 stars because I changed the recipe so much. I used egg beaters, splenda, 1/2 vanilla extract and omitted the oil using 3/4 cup of unsweetened applesauce instead. I didn't have buttermilk so I used 2% milk. It's a great base recipe and you can change it every time to suit your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayside, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
These are by far the best whole wheat pumpkin muffins I've made. I did substitute splenda white and brown sugar and used homemade no sugar added applesauce. Even after oopsing the first time and adding allspice instead of pumpkin pie spice these muffins rocked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States