Whole Wheat Pumpkin-Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
We really liked these. I'm always trying to find healthier recipes. I used only 1/2 of the white sugar and didn't have any buttermilk. So I substituted vinegar and milk as suggested. Will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotCocoa27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I forgot the eggs and used more buttermilk. I will remember the eggs next time. I love these and so does my husband and we made them without the raisins and nuts. I think that they would be delicious with cranberries also. Perfect amount of spices and very moist. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannon1976

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
These are very good! You would never guess they were made with all whole wheat flour. They came out very moist and light and rose beautifully! I omitted the white sugar at the suggestion of other reviewers, and since I didn't have any applesauce on hand, I used mashed banana instead. I also used dried cranberries instead of the raisins just because I love the combination of cranberry and pumpkin. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
These were excellent! Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
These were just o.k.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KATEZ21
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
When I made these, I used half whole wheat flour and half AP flour. It didn't say how full to fill the cups, which gives an idea how much they rise; I filled it almost full and the muffins were nicely domed like the main photo. I doubled the recipe to share with friends and got a little more than 2 dozen... not that I am complaining, these are delicious muffins! nice and moist with intense pumpkin spice flavor. So good with tea. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEZ21

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Very tasty and quite healthy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama-mimosa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
For being 'healthy' muffins these were just ok. I wasn't expecting much so I was maybe a bit pleased but not impressed enough to make them again. As others suggested I did not use any oil- just used twice the amount of pumpkin. I used splenda sugars and twice the raisins since I didn't have pecans. I added about 2 TB flax seed. I think they would be better with chocolate chips- I know it takes away from the 'healthy' aspect but a few dark choc chips won't hurt- maybe would have been worth another star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
These were great, but they stuck to the paper cups a lot, next time I will make it without
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
These muffins are quite good, they turned out quite dense and moist. I had no applesauce so I used a shredded apple instead, which seemed to work well. I wish the pumpkin taste was stronger. Otherwise really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins

Enjoy these tasty muffins for a healthy, hearty breakfast treat.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States