Whole Wheat Pumpkin-Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
We really liked these. I'm always trying to find healthier recipes. I used only 1/2 of the white sugar and didn't have any buttermilk. So I substituted vinegar and milk as suggested. Will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotCocoa27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I forgot the eggs and used more buttermilk. I will remember the eggs next time. I love these and so does my husband and we made them without the raisins and nuts. I think that they would be delicious with cranberries also. Perfect amount of spices and very moist. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannon1976

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
These are very good! You would never guess they were made with all whole wheat flour. They came out very moist and light and rose beautifully! I omitted the white sugar at the suggestion of other reviewers, and since I didn't have any applesauce on hand, I used mashed banana instead. I also used dried cranberries instead of the raisins just because I love the combination of cranberry and pumpkin. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
These were excellent! Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
These were just o.k.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KATEZ21
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
When I made these, I used half whole wheat flour and half AP flour. It didn't say how full to fill the cups, which gives an idea how much they rise; I filled it almost full and the muffins were nicely domed like the main photo. I doubled the recipe to share with friends and got a little more than 2 dozen... not that I am complaining, these are delicious muffins! nice and moist with intense pumpkin spice flavor. So good with tea. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEZ21

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Very tasty and quite healthy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama-mimosa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
For being 'healthy' muffins these were just ok. I wasn't expecting much so I was maybe a bit pleased but not impressed enough to make them again. As others suggested I did not use any oil- just used twice the amount of pumpkin. I used splenda sugars and twice the raisins since I didn't have pecans. I added about 2 TB flax seed. I think they would be better with chocolate chips- I know it takes away from the 'healthy' aspect but a few dark choc chips won't hurt- maybe would have been worth another star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
These were great, but they stuck to the paper cups a lot, next time I will make it without
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
These muffins are quite good, they turned out quite dense and moist. I had no applesauce so I used a shredded apple instead, which seemed to work well. I wish the pumpkin taste was stronger. Otherwise really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States