Whole Wheat Pumpkin-Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by KATEZ21
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
When I made these, I used half whole wheat flour and half AP flour. It didn't say how full to fill the cups, which gives an idea how much they rise; I filled it almost full and the muffins were nicely domed like the main photo. I doubled the recipe to share with friends and got a little more than 2 dozen... not that I am complaining, these are delicious muffins! nice and moist with intense pumpkin spice flavor. So good with tea. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEZ21

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Very tasty and quite healthy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama-mimosa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
For being 'healthy' muffins these were just ok. I wasn't expecting much so I was maybe a bit pleased but not impressed enough to make them again. As others suggested I did not use any oil- just used twice the amount of pumpkin. I used splenda sugars and twice the raisins since I didn't have pecans. I added about 2 TB flax seed. I think they would be better with chocolate chips- I know it takes away from the 'healthy' aspect but a few dark choc chips won't hurt- maybe would have been worth another star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
These were great, but they stuck to the paper cups a lot, next time I will make it without
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
These muffins are quite good, they turned out quite dense and moist. I had no applesauce so I used a shredded apple instead, which seemed to work well. I wish the pumpkin taste was stronger. Otherwise really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I left out the pecans and added currants and cranberries instead of raisins. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela
Home Town: Victoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
We make a double batch of these every week! We make them with white whole wheat, use a 15 oz can of pumpkin plus an ounce or so of applesauce. They travel well, are delicious, and keep for a few days if they last that long. Our kids love 'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO'Hare

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Great recipe. Great for kids to help with. I added wheat germ and more sugar- turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
With a few changes like less sugar, flax seed they're very healthy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ksvona
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I used extra pumpkin instead of oil and used skim milk instead of buttermilk and they were flavorful and moist and fluffy, light and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksvona

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States