Whole Wheat Pumpkin-Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Love the fact that it is so healthy! As everyone said - leave out teh oil and sub pumpkin or applesauce. I didn't have pumpkin pie spice so I subbed 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger (scant)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I made mini-muffins, added a streusel topping, and took it to a Bible study where they flew out of the basket! Made them with pear puree in place of the pumpkin and applesauce. I also used self-rising flour (left out the baking powder, soda, and salt), cinnamon and nutmeg in place of the pumpkin pie spice, more brown sugar than white, and left off the raisins and pecans. It's great to have a delicious, versatile recipe that allows for substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I loved these. I had a baked sweet potato in the fridge, and I mashed that and used instead of pumpkin--I prefer sweet potatoes, anyway. I also used apple butter since I never had applesauce, and I omitted the white sugar (they are plenty sweet without it, especially with the apple butter). I was a half cup short on ww pastry flour (use that in muffins since it makes a lighter product), and I added 1/2 cup ground pecans (couldn't readily find my pecans in the freezer!). Obviously, I didn't add pecans, but I did add raisins (black because that's all I had). I also used separate spices instead of punpkin pie spice (allspice, ginger, cardamom, and nutmeg--my personal fave blend). They are moist and light, and I love them! Like other reviewers, I would recommend using the oil--the texture will be much better, especially with ww flour. Thanks for this...I will definitely be making these over and over this fall and winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mkstevens09
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I liked these muffins and would make them again, but would change the spice used. I made Pumpkin Pie Spice II from this site and felt it had too much clove in it. I would maybe add just cinnamon to these muffins next time, or use less clove in order to suit my tastes. At some point I would also try others' suggestion of replacing the oil for more applesauce and see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
GREAT low fat recipe! I used almond milk instead of canola oil and a little less of both sugars but they turned out REALLY good and super moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
As other reviewers have said as is they turn out a bit lacking in pumpkin flavor. I used a whole small can of pureed pumpkin and upped the amount of pumpkin pie spice, as well as adding, cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves to it. For a batch for someone who needed an extra kick of fiber and whole grain I added 1 tablespoon of stone cut oats, and 3 tablespoons of powdered fiber solution. They couldn't taste it and ate up the batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Spongy texture. Not enough pumpkin/spice flavor. A little gritty (I'm not sure what caused the grittiness). Edible, but not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
These were wonderful! I doubled the recipe, and was so glad I did! I used 1 can organic pumpkin pie mix (which had all the spices & pure cane juice), so I left off the pumpkin pie spice & sugars, except for 1/3 cup brown sugar that I decided to add at the end. I didn't have buttermilk, so I used skim milk, and it was just fine. These were just sweet enough, and I was glad I added the oil (I almost didn't), because wheat flour makes some pretty dense muffins! I think next time I'll add raisins - they needed just a little something more. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
My two year old loves these! (need i say more?). In fact the entire family loves them! So hard to get those veggies in, these are power packed, fast, convenient...inexpensive and provide breakfast and snacks for a couple days. making them again tonight! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Very good. I made with yellow raisins and they were the perfect addition. So glad I made a double batch to share. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins

Enjoy these tasty muffins for a healthy, hearty breakfast treat.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States