Whole Wheat Pumpkin-Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Super yummy!! Made these for my boys as a healthy breakfast alternative. Eliminated the oil and subbed with a little more applesauce and a little more pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
delicious, kids loved them too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
These were outstanding. I've made them three times now...one time with more applesauce substituted for oil and the other times used recipe as written. BOTH were moist and delicious. Everyone loved them. Really watch them as they bake. The first time I let them cook too long and the tops were hard (my own fault). In my oven, 15 minutes were enough. Loved these! FYI: I managed to salvage the first over-cooked batch by putting them in a self-seal bag along with an orange that had been cut in half. Orange added moisture and flavor!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Robbinsdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
These were a little too dense for me. I might try spelt flour next time since I have had better success with it. I used a fresh roasted pumpkin instead of canned and cut out the white sugar which was fine for me and the kids but the hubby didn't like them at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I followed other reviewers' suggestions to omit the white sugar and oil. I used 1 cup of pumpkin instead of 1/2 cup. They're really good even just a few minutes out of the oven. I can't wait to taste them tomorrow morning! I may try more pumpkin pie spice next time just because I like a really strong spice flavor in pumpkin breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque_O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Took other's advice and left out the white sugar. At first taste, I thought it was too "whole wheaty" and not sweet enough, but the 2nd try (they were definitely good enough for a 2nd try...) I totally changed my mind: The sweetness was just right and the whole wheat blended right in (maybe it was a matter of eating right out of the oven vs. the next day? Hmm....maybe). Anyway, GREAT holiday bread, I will definitely be making for Xmas instead of my plain-Jane pumpkin bread. Other changes: I doubled recipe & made a 13x9 pan instead of muffins (took longer to cook of course), I used a whole can of pumpkin rather than just 1 cup, used craisins, used half&half in place of buttermilk, and I made my own pumpkin pie spice with cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
The buttermilk and applesauce makes this muffin super moist - my daughter LOVED it and it is now in my "favorite" pile. I didn't add the golden raisins (I only had the regular ones) but did add the pecans which were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
We really liked these. I'm always trying to find healthier recipes. I used only 1/2 of the white sugar and didn't have any buttermilk. So I substituted vinegar and milk as suggested. Will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotCocoa27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I forgot the eggs and used more buttermilk. I will remember the eggs next time. I love these and so does my husband and we made them without the raisins and nuts. I think that they would be delicious with cranberries also. Perfect amount of spices and very moist. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannon1976

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
These are very good! You would never guess they were made with all whole wheat flour. They came out very moist and light and rose beautifully! I omitted the white sugar at the suggestion of other reviewers, and since I didn't have any applesauce on hand, I used mashed banana instead. I also used dried cranberries instead of the raisins just because I love the combination of cranberry and pumpkin. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States