Whole Wheat Pumpkin-Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
As other reviewers have said as is they turn out a bit lacking in pumpkin flavor. I used a whole small can of pureed pumpkin and upped the amount of pumpkin pie spice, as well as adding, cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves to it. For a batch for someone who needed an extra kick of fiber and whole grain I added 1 tablespoon of stone cut oats, and 3 tablespoons of powdered fiber solution. They couldn't taste it and ate up the batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Spongy texture. Not enough pumpkin/spice flavor. A little gritty (I'm not sure what caused the grittiness). Edible, but not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
These were wonderful! I doubled the recipe, and was so glad I did! I used 1 can organic pumpkin pie mix (which had all the spices & pure cane juice), so I left off the pumpkin pie spice & sugars, except for 1/3 cup brown sugar that I decided to add at the end. I didn't have buttermilk, so I used skim milk, and it was just fine. These were just sweet enough, and I was glad I added the oil (I almost didn't), because wheat flour makes some pretty dense muffins! I think next time I'll add raisins - they needed just a little something more. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
My two year old loves these! (need i say more?). In fact the entire family loves them! So hard to get those veggies in, these are power packed, fast, convenient...inexpensive and provide breakfast and snacks for a couple days. making them again tonight! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Very good. I made with yellow raisins and they were the perfect addition. So glad I made a double batch to share. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
These muffins are great as is and in my opinion it does need the oil because I did notice the difference when I left it out and replaced it with extra pumpkin and applesauce. It is also a great base recipe for many other others including a bananna whole wheat bran muffin I made. I just decreased the sugar to 3/4 cup total of just brown sugar (I like it sweet), subbed 1/3 cup of fat free plain yogurt for the buttermilk, decreased the pumpkin pie spice to 1 tsp, replaced pumpkin with 2 mashed ripe banannas, 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour, and 1/2 cup oat bran. I also added 3 tbs of flax seed for added fiber. Let the mixture sit for 5 min before putting it in pan to bake. Absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Awesome! I cut the oil in half and didn't miss it. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I cut the oil and replaced with applesauce and more pumpkin. I cut the white and brown sugar in half. Last I added a little cinnamon. My husband loved them (as far as a healthy muffin goes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Super yummy!! Made these for my boys as a healthy breakfast alternative. Eliminated the oil and subbed with a little more applesauce and a little more pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
delicious, kids loved them too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States