Whole Wheat Pumpkin-Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I loved these. I had a baked sweet potato in the fridge, and I mashed that and used instead of pumpkin--I prefer sweet potatoes, anyway. I also used apple butter since I never had applesauce, and I omitted the white sugar (they are plenty sweet without it, especially with the apple butter). I was a half cup short on ww pastry flour (use that in muffins since it makes a lighter product), and I added 1/2 cup ground pecans (couldn't readily find my pecans in the freezer!). Obviously, I didn't add pecans, but I did add raisins (black because that's all I had). I also used separate spices instead of punpkin pie spice (allspice, ginger, cardamom, and nutmeg--my personal fave blend). They are moist and light, and I love them! Like other reviewers, I would recommend using the oil--the texture will be much better, especially with ww flour. Thanks for this...I will definitely be making these over and over this fall and winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mkstevens09
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I liked these muffins and would make them again, but would change the spice used. I made Pumpkin Pie Spice II from this site and felt it had too much clove in it. I would maybe add just cinnamon to these muffins next time, or use less clove in order to suit my tastes. At some point I would also try others' suggestion of replacing the oil for more applesauce and see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
GREAT low fat recipe! I used almond milk instead of canola oil and a little less of both sugars but they turned out REALLY good and super moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
As other reviewers have said as is they turn out a bit lacking in pumpkin flavor. I used a whole small can of pureed pumpkin and upped the amount of pumpkin pie spice, as well as adding, cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves to it. For a batch for someone who needed an extra kick of fiber and whole grain I added 1 tablespoon of stone cut oats, and 3 tablespoons of powdered fiber solution. They couldn't taste it and ate up the batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Spongy texture. Not enough pumpkin/spice flavor. A little gritty (I'm not sure what caused the grittiness). Edible, but not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
These were wonderful! I doubled the recipe, and was so glad I did! I used 1 can organic pumpkin pie mix (which had all the spices & pure cane juice), so I left off the pumpkin pie spice & sugars, except for 1/3 cup brown sugar that I decided to add at the end. I didn't have buttermilk, so I used skim milk, and it was just fine. These were just sweet enough, and I was glad I added the oil (I almost didn't), because wheat flour makes some pretty dense muffins! I think next time I'll add raisins - they needed just a little something more. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
My two year old loves these! (need i say more?). In fact the entire family loves them! So hard to get those veggies in, these are power packed, fast, convenient...inexpensive and provide breakfast and snacks for a couple days. making them again tonight! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Very good. I made with yellow raisins and they were the perfect addition. So glad I made a double batch to share. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
These muffins are great as is and in my opinion it does need the oil because I did notice the difference when I left it out and replaced it with extra pumpkin and applesauce. It is also a great base recipe for many other others including a bananna whole wheat bran muffin I made. I just decreased the sugar to 3/4 cup total of just brown sugar (I like it sweet), subbed 1/3 cup of fat free plain yogurt for the buttermilk, decreased the pumpkin pie spice to 1 tsp, replaced pumpkin with 2 mashed ripe banannas, 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour, and 1/2 cup oat bran. I also added 3 tbs of flax seed for added fiber. Let the mixture sit for 5 min before putting it in pan to bake. Absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Awesome! I cut the oil in half and didn't miss it. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States