Whole Wheat Pumpkin-Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Dry and tasteless I would not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BROZZY
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
These muffins are delish! I made the following slight changes, otherwise I followed the recipe as written: used 3 tablespoons coconut oil instead of canola oil. Used skim milk plus 1 teaspoon vinegar as suggested instead of buttermilk. Omitted the raisins and pecans. I greased the muffin pans instead of using paper liners and they came out great. I feel like I'm eating pumpkin pie without the crust! ~~ Oops! I realized I used 1 cup of pumpkin instead of 1/2 cup...I am going to continue using the full cup when I make these in the future. More vitamin A and more YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
It's in the oven now. Here are the changes I made: grapeseed oil instead of canola, 1% milk instead of buttermilk, carrot purée instead of pumpkin, homemade applesauce (no sugar added), 1/4 c. honey instead of any sugar and baking in a loaf pan at 375 instead of muffins. Added 2 T flaxseed meal and 1/2 c. chopped cashews and pumpkin seeds. It's basically a new recipe! We'll see how it comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaLearnsToCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pugariffic
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I love this! I took the advice of another comment and I left out the white sugar I also left out oil and added 1/4 cup more pumpkin. I topped it with a homemade vanilla topping. It's fantastic! A nice healthy dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pugariffic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I didn't expect much from this recipe, since I don't normally love pumpkin (my kid & husband do) and haven't had much luck baking with applesauce. These were really, really good, though. They're definitely fall into the "treat" category, but they do have some redeeming nutritional value. I used white whole wheat flour and dried cranberries. Next time I might try cutting the white sugar, as some others did. Still, a pleasant surprise - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Love the fact that it is so healthy! As everyone said - leave out teh oil and sub pumpkin or applesauce. I didn't have pumpkin pie spice so I subbed 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger (scant)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I made mini-muffins, added a streusel topping, and took it to a Bible study where they flew out of the basket! Made them with pear puree in place of the pumpkin and applesauce. I also used self-rising flour (left out the baking powder, soda, and salt), cinnamon and nutmeg in place of the pumpkin pie spice, more brown sugar than white, and left off the raisins and pecans. It's great to have a delicious, versatile recipe that allows for substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I loved these. I had a baked sweet potato in the fridge, and I mashed that and used instead of pumpkin--I prefer sweet potatoes, anyway. I also used apple butter since I never had applesauce, and I omitted the white sugar (they are plenty sweet without it, especially with the apple butter). I was a half cup short on ww pastry flour (use that in muffins since it makes a lighter product), and I added 1/2 cup ground pecans (couldn't readily find my pecans in the freezer!). Obviously, I didn't add pecans, but I did add raisins (black because that's all I had). I also used separate spices instead of punpkin pie spice (allspice, ginger, cardamom, and nutmeg--my personal fave blend). They are moist and light, and I love them! Like other reviewers, I would recommend using the oil--the texture will be much better, especially with ww flour. Thanks for this...I will definitely be making these over and over this fall and winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mkstevens09
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I liked these muffins and would make them again, but would change the spice used. I made Pumpkin Pie Spice II from this site and felt it had too much clove in it. I would maybe add just cinnamon to these muffins next time, or use less clove in order to suit my tastes. At some point I would also try others' suggestion of replacing the oil for more applesauce and see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
GREAT low fat recipe! I used almond milk instead of canola oil and a little less of both sugars but they turned out REALLY good and super moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States