Whole Wheat Pumpkin-Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
These are great! I will make them again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracie Brandt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Wasn't thrilled with these at all. Too much pumpkin pie artificial taste. Tasted better with raisins than without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Delicious. Made recipe as written with my kids. I dont expect there to be any left for breakfast! Highly recommend. Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hbc129
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Delicious! I made them for my 3.5 and 1 year old and they loved them! I like to freeze healthier homemade muffins and leave in a ziploc bag for a quick breakfast option! And this one is going on our breakfast menu more often! Next time, I will add pecans and raisins for an extra delicious pop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
To be fair, I like the base of this recipe....but I LOVE these muffins with the changes I made. I used only 1C of the flour, and added 3/4C of this ancient grain pancake mix I like and 1 scoop of cinnamon protein powder (take THAT, kiddos! bwahahaa). I bake with Splenda and the Splenda brown sugar blend to cut calories, and I omitted the oil altogether and upped the applesauce a bit. I also just used plain skim milk as vinegar + milk sounded disgusting to me. My muffins were moist and a little bit dense, but in a good way. Delicious straight out of the oven with a little butter. My husband said he would add choco chips but I think they were great as is. Definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
When I was a kid a muffin was a very slightly sweet breakfast bread. Over the course of my adulthood, thanks to Perkins and Hostess, the definition has shifted to embrace anything that is baked in a muffin tin, and the closer it comes to the texture and sweetness of cake, the more we seem to rave about it. So, that said ... these are very tasty concoctions, but they aren't muffins. They're cupcakes. I still use the recipe but I only use 1 egg and I cut the sugar DRASTICALLY. When you've got applesauce and raisins in the recipe, you can use a mere 1/4 cup of brown sugar and still get very sweet muffins by pre-Perkins standards. (Again, think of bread, not cake.) I also use whole wheat pastry flour so that they are less dense, but without the high sugar content, the texture is still truer to that of a traditional muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Innkeeper Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Tasty muffins. Only thing I did differently was I used almond milk instead of butter milk and Added an extra 3/4 of a teaspoon of baking powder. Turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kendrapreston

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Thank you for this recipe. It has become a staple in our home. I have 9 children and it is very hard to find a healthy recipe that everyone likes, this is one of them. I do modify it because of health reasons. I use real maple syrup instead of regular sugar, then reduce the applesauce a tad. other than that i made it the same way. I have to quadruple the recipe to make sure no fights arise over who ate them all haha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EMHenning
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
These are really good, the kids don't even know they are healthy!! I did make some changes to the original recipe because I wanted to use an unrefined sugar and get rid of the oil. I used white whole wheat flour, increased the pumpkin pie spice to 1T, replaced the oil with an extra 1/4C pumpkin, and replaced the white and brown sugars with 2/3C demerara sugar, and I added a good handful of chopped pecans. After reading previous reviews I decided to give my liners a little spray with pam with flour before filling to help prevent sticking.. it didn't work as well as I had hoped. I think in the future I may turn the oven down closer to 375 because they did look a little brown on the bottom after only 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
These turned out dry for me. I've also noticed that using all whole wheat flour gives muffins a raw-uncooked taste. Not a bad basic recipe but I would not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States