Whole Wheat Pumpkin-Applesauce Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
They are good. I omitted the white sugar. They were sweet enough without it. Made them in mini muffin tins. I did not add the raisin or nuts, but wish I had. Needs a little something for texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Love these! Made them just as the recipe reads and they were great! Didn't have pecans, but plan to add those to the next batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Very tasty! I have found whole wheat muffins to be dry in the past and this was not. Enjoyed by the whole family which is good as I made a triple batch! I may increase the apple sauce a little next time to make it even moister! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Delicious!! They're moist and fluffy, but hearty too. I made one batch with the recipe as is and another substituting pumpkin butter for applesauce and puréed sweet potato for the pumpkin and added toasted pumpkin seeds. This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moose&Squirrel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This recipe lends credibility to my frequent assertion that 'good for you' does not have to be synonymous with 'sacrifice'. Light textured, perfectly moist and flavorful ~ this recipe sacrifices nothing in any department. You can use 1% buttermilk as I did, if you wish, but try to use the real thing, as the substitute just isn't near as good. I chose dried cranberries and walnuts for the add-ins. This is one muffin recipe I will refer to often. Thank you, Zafira.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I had a a partial can of pumpkin leftover and thought I'd try these.. they turned out great! I didn't have pumpkin pie spice so I threw in cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and nutmeg. I also used a little more than 1/2 c. pumpkin and sprinkled the top with a brown sugar/flour/butter mixture. SO yummy! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Wow, these muffins are AWESOME! Just baked up a batch and ate one hot out of the oven; it was divine. Rose up perfectly and was nice, tender, and fluffy. Not at all dense like you worry a whole wheat muffin might be! Just as fluffy as any muffin made with all-purpose, seriously! I only made a few changes to the recipe. I added about a half a cup of oats, used Egg Beaters instead of eggs, and 1/3 cup skim milk with 1 tsp lemon juice instead of buttermilk. I didn't use raisins or nuts in the batter -- instead, I chopped the 1/4 cup pecans fine and pressed them into the tops of the muffins before baking, and gave them each a dusting of cinnamon sugar before sending them in the oven. This ended up giving the tender muffin a nice bit of crispy crunch to it as well. Great recipe, perfect for breakfast with a cup of coffee and a piece of fruit. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
These were quick and easy and used items I usually have available. Only a couple substitutions for me, regular milk instead of buttermilk, and cinnamon with a dash of cloves/nutmeg in place of the allspice. I also added a bit of coconut but it wasn't really enough to add to the muffins. I would make again, although they were not that sweet (I used unsweetened applesauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Good! I wanted to make healthy muffins so I used 3/4 cup of the applesauce and pumpkin and cut out the white sugar and oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
moist, tasty. cut the sugar a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States