Whole Wheat Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
This recipe was awesome!!!! All measurements are perfect - Pita's turned out better than any whole wheat ones I've ever tried!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Very Good recipe. I made these twice this week already. Wow, everyone loved them! I made changes though: 2 cups WW four, 1 cup AP flour, 1 tablespoon honey. Instead of making pita bread however, I separated the dough into 9 balls and rolled into thin circles. I then fried these in greased skillet till slightly browned on each side. Then I covered them in a damp towel. This made lovely wraps. Thanks for the recipe, maybe I'll get to make pitas one day. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
I made a few changes, but they came out amazingly. I didn't have soy flour so I used 2 cups stone ground whole wheat and 1 cup all-purpose flour. I also added 1 T. honey to the beginning. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
These were fantastic! I used unbleached bread flour in place of the soy, otherwise followed recipe to the letter. Amazing! I'll definitely make these repeatedly. After making these, we filled them with pizza sauce, pepperoni, mushrooms and cheese and microwaved to make pizza pockets - even my 4 and 5 year olds loved them! *note* update on 4/26/05 - I made these exactly according to the recipe this weekend and they were PERFECT. The soy flour smelled a little different while forming the pitas, but the taste and texture were wonderful! I made 8 pitas out of this recipe - even used a ruler to measure them as I rolled them out to make sure they were right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Elizabeth Mastaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Great and easy recipe! I didn't have soy flour handy so I used all purpose and it worked out beautifully. My harshest critc, my sister, ate about seven of the halves in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
Very good! Easy to make and comes out perfectly - exactly like the pitas I get at the store. I used 2 cups wheat flour and 1 cup all-purpose. After first rise and before rolling out, I refrigerated overnight due to my schedule. Still came out perfectly. I may add a bit of honey next time just to give a touch of sweetness, but this recipe is awesome just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIGIGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
Substituting white wheat flour for the soy, and honey for the molasses works well too. Thanks for the great recipe, (dziekuje) Smucia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This is a really great and easy recipe. I didn't think it was that time consuming, either. (Compared to making tortillas!) I thought I had soy flour on hand, then at the last minute discovered I didn't, so I substituted rye flour and they turned out really good. I also made another batch alongside, substituting bread flour for the soy. These puffed up really nicely, but didn't make a pocket inside, so I won't use bread flour again, but even the flops tasted better than the ones from the grocery store!! Thanks for the easy recipe with simple ingredients! I have another batch going right now, and I didn't even have to re-read the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
Excellent! Quick and easy! I couldn't find whole wheat pitas in the grocery store. So, I came home and looked for a recipe. I found this one. I used honey instead of molasses and white instead of soy. These turned out just the way I expected. I love them. My family loves them. I will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yreka, California, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States