Whole Wheat Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
This recipe was awesome!!!! All measurements are perfect - Pita's turned out better than any whole wheat ones I've ever tried!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
I made a few changes, but they came out amazingly. I didn't have soy flour so I used 2 cups stone ground whole wheat and 1 cup all-purpose flour. I also added 1 T. honey to the beginning. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
These were fantastic! I used unbleached bread flour in place of the soy, otherwise followed recipe to the letter. Amazing! I'll definitely make these repeatedly. After making these, we filled them with pizza sauce, pepperoni, mushrooms and cheese and microwaved to make pizza pockets - even my 4 and 5 year olds loved them! *note* update on 4/26/05 - I made these exactly according to the recipe this weekend and they were PERFECT. The soy flour smelled a little different while forming the pitas, but the taste and texture were wonderful! I made 8 pitas out of this recipe - even used a ruler to measure them as I rolled them out to make sure they were right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Elizabeth Mastaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Great and easy recipe! I didn't have soy flour handy so I used all purpose and it worked out beautifully. My harshest critc, my sister, ate about seven of the halves in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
Very good! Easy to make and comes out perfectly - exactly like the pitas I get at the store. I used 2 cups wheat flour and 1 cup all-purpose. After first rise and before rolling out, I refrigerated overnight due to my schedule. Still came out perfectly. I may add a bit of honey next time just to give a touch of sweetness, but this recipe is awesome just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIGIGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
I don't know what I did wrong, but mine barely puffed up, then flattened. I just like my pita more fluffy, bread like. It was edible but I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARNESTA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
I made this exactly as recipe stated. Maybe I'm not used to soy flour, but I think it gave the pitas a funny taste. The texture was ok though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covelo, California, USA
Living In: Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
This was my first attempt at making pita bread, so I don't have anything to compare it to. They are rather time consuming, but nice to have fresh from the oven. I did find that they got a little tough, esp the ones that were leftover til the next day. Good flavor, and my husband liked them because they tasted very "primitive" to him -- maybe cause you had to chew so hard to eat them. Overall, not bad; i would make again to accompany certain meals (see Mediterranean Feast meal idea), but alot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
Substituting white wheat flour for the soy, and honey for the molasses works well too. Thanks for the great recipe, (dziekuje) Smucia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States