Whole Wheat Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 11, 2007
I used all purpose flour instead of the soy flour and white sugar instead of the molasses. I also added about 3 tablespoons of olive oil and a bit more water to make the dough more workable. I fried these in a non-stick pan on top of the stove and they turned out nice and fluffy. A very good recipe, with some minor adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I found this much too heavy and I didnt understand the purpose of the molasses. if it's to add sugar so the yeast will rise, I suggest using honey instead to avoid the undesirable flavour and colour that molasses gives. a note for the people whose bread didnt rise: I found that you have to roll them out to just the right thickness. the ones I rolled too thin didn't rise as well. also, do not add the salt to the mixture until after the yeast has dissolved. otherwise you will kill your yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Very Good recipe. I made these twice this week already. Wow, everyone loved them! I made changes though: 2 cups WW four, 1 cup AP flour, 1 tablespoon honey. Instead of making pita bread however, I separated the dough into 9 balls and rolled into thin circles. I then fried these in greased skillet till slightly browned on each side. Then I covered them in a damp towel. This made lovely wraps. Thanks for the recipe, maybe I'll get to make pitas one day. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
several reviews have noted that this recipe doesn't rise or doesn't form pockets. This is because it has you add salt in the first step with the water and yeast. SALT KILLS YEAST Instead, mix the salt with the flours before adding it to the water, yeast, and molasses. Otherwise, a nice recipe the best whole wheat pita recipe I've come across.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
this didn't work for me at all. it was a real disappointment after all the time it took... maybe it was just me but I couldn't get the dough to rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This is a really great and easy recipe. I didn't think it was that time consuming, either. (Compared to making tortillas!) I thought I had soy flour on hand, then at the last minute discovered I didn't, so I substituted rye flour and they turned out really good. I also made another batch alongside, substituting bread flour for the soy. These puffed up really nicely, but didn't make a pocket inside, so I won't use bread flour again, but even the flops tasted better than the ones from the grocery store!! Thanks for the easy recipe with simple ingredients! I have another batch going right now, and I didn't even have to re-read the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
I followed the recipe to the letter and found that it was tough and very flat. I liked the flavor, though, and simply used it as a flatbread to accompany ragout. Next time I will try adding a bit of white flour and a bit more yeast and see if that affects the tough/flatness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Wonderful tasting right out of the oven, but very easy to dry out. A little hard also to make a good pocket without it falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, California, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
Substituting white wheat flour for the soy, and honey for the molasses works well too. Thanks for the great recipe, (dziekuje) Smucia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
This was my first attempt at making pita bread, so I don't have anything to compare it to. They are rather time consuming, but nice to have fresh from the oven. I did find that they got a little tough, esp the ones that were leftover til the next day. Good flavor, and my husband liked them because they tasted very "primitive" to him -- maybe cause you had to chew so hard to eat them. Overall, not bad; i would make again to accompany certain meals (see Mediterranean Feast meal idea), but alot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States