Whole Wheat Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
I have to rate this low for a pita bread recipe, as it does not work as written for pitas. Most of the 5 star ratings have been using any other kind of flour but not soy flour. Soy flour has NO gluten and there isn't enough with just the wheat flour to let the yeast do it's job and make them rise. Substituting all purpose or rye does make the difference and adding honey or sugar instead of molasses makes a more ethenic flavor. Adding the salt mixed with the flour also works better. There are better recipes out there...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamabear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Great flavor! I used a little bit more water, 2 cups wheat 1 cup AP floor. I used honey. I made them half the size and cooked them at 500 for 3 minutes and they are PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This was my first time making pita bread and they were very easy to make. They had wonderful flavor but I did not get pockets. I added the salt to the flour to avoid killing the yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
Excellent! Quick and easy! I couldn't find whole wheat pitas in the grocery store. So, I came home and looked for a recipe. I found this one. I used honey instead of molasses and white instead of soy. These turned out just the way I expected. I love them. My family loves them. I will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yreka, California, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
I've made this recipe twice now. I did not use soy flour because I didn't have any. I substituted white flour and only used one cup and two cups of whole wheat. I also used frutose for sweetener because it's easier on my husband's diabetes and still feeds the yeast. I cooked them on top of the stove in a hot cast iron skillet as suggested by another reader. That was much easier than in the oven. I think they turned out great. They don't puff up enough to make "pocket" pitas but they make great wraps or just butter them and eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandma_beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
I used all purpose flour instead of the soy flour and white sugar instead of the molasses. I also added about 3 tablespoons of olive oil and a bit more water to make the dough more workable. I fried these in a non-stick pan on top of the stove and they turned out nice and fluffy. A very good recipe, with some minor adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I found this much too heavy and I didnt understand the purpose of the molasses. if it's to add sugar so the yeast will rise, I suggest using honey instead to avoid the undesirable flavour and colour that molasses gives. a note for the people whose bread didnt rise: I found that you have to roll them out to just the right thickness. the ones I rolled too thin didn't rise as well. also, do not add the salt to the mixture until after the yeast has dissolved. otherwise you will kill your yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Very Good recipe. I made these twice this week already. Wow, everyone loved them! I made changes though: 2 cups WW four, 1 cup AP flour, 1 tablespoon honey. Instead of making pita bread however, I separated the dough into 9 balls and rolled into thin circles. I then fried these in greased skillet till slightly browned on each side. Then I covered them in a damp towel. This made lovely wraps. Thanks for the recipe, maybe I'll get to make pitas one day. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
several reviews have noted that this recipe doesn't rise or doesn't form pockets. This is because it has you add salt in the first step with the water and yeast. SALT KILLS YEAST Instead, mix the salt with the flours before adding it to the water, yeast, and molasses. Otherwise, a nice recipe the best whole wheat pita recipe I've come across.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
274 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
this didn't work for me at all. it was a real disappointment after all the time it took... maybe it was just me but I couldn't get the dough to rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States