Whole Wheat Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This was my first attempt at making pita and this recipe turned out great. As other people noted did not add the salt directly into the yeast, hot water, and molasses. It was added to the flour mixture. They came out of the oven puffed up and very tasty. A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I gave this 4 stars only because it seemed too time consuming. Although the pitas did come out good and are very healthy, I think it's easier to just buy them. If you live at a location where pitas aren't a common find, then this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maya

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
The soy flour made the dough impossibly sticky. I ended up adding about an extra cup of flour just so I could work with it, which made the bred quite dry and cakey. It was filling with a good balance of proteins and carbs byt definitely not nearly as good as storebought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I have to agree with the other person who actually followed the recipe and used SOY flour instead of substituting white. You get an unmanageable sticky dense dough that doesn't rise and doesn't roll well because it never seems to have enough flour to stop sticking to you and the countertop. Ended up being a waste of time, I'm sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
I have to rate this low for a pita bread recipe, as it does not work as written for pitas. Most of the 5 star ratings have been using any other kind of flour but not soy flour. Soy flour has NO gluten and there isn't enough with just the wheat flour to let the yeast do it's job and make them rise. Substituting all purpose or rye does make the difference and adding honey or sugar instead of molasses makes a more ethenic flavor. Adding the salt mixed with the flour also works better. There are better recipes out there...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamabear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Great flavor! I used a little bit more water, 2 cups wheat 1 cup AP floor. I used honey. I made them half the size and cooked them at 500 for 3 minutes and they are PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This was my first time making pita bread and they were very easy to make. They had wonderful flavor but I did not get pockets. I added the salt to the flour to avoid killing the yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Kobialka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
Excellent! Quick and easy! I couldn't find whole wheat pitas in the grocery store. So, I came home and looked for a recipe. I found this one. I used honey instead of molasses and white instead of soy. These turned out just the way I expected. I love them. My family loves them. I will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yreka, California, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
I've made this recipe twice now. I did not use soy flour because I didn't have any. I substituted white flour and only used one cup and two cups of whole wheat. I also used frutose for sweetener because it's easier on my husband's diabetes and still feeds the yeast. I cooked them on top of the stove in a hot cast iron skillet as suggested by another reader. That was much easier than in the oven. I think they turned out great. They don't puff up enough to make "pocket" pitas but they make great wraps or just butter them and eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandma_beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
I used all purpose flour instead of the soy flour and white sugar instead of the molasses. I also added about 3 tablespoons of olive oil and a bit more water to make the dough more workable. I fried these in a non-stick pan on top of the stove and they turned out nice and fluffy. A very good recipe, with some minor adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States