Whole Wheat Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I used all whole wheat flour and whole wheat pastry flour (Indian atta). Trick to make perfect puffed up pitas is keep the oven rack in the second notch from top. Heat the broiler and place the rolled pita right under the broiler. Check in about 1-2 minutes. Turn over. Check again in 1 minute. Perfectly puffed up flatbread. Make sure to keep checking regularly. Can burn very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Easy and delicious! Used 1 Tbsp of brown sugar instead of molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Turned out great! I was very pleased with it, and I haven't had a lot of success with yeast breads. Very easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This worked just fine for me! I make the dough in my bread machine on the dough cycle, layering the ingredients as I normally would if I were to make bread, staring with the water, salt, sugar, flour and topping with the yeast. When it's finished doing its thing, I pat the dough out, let it rise for 20-30 mins. and bake it in the oven. Having my bread machine do the hard work makes these more fun, fast & easy to make! My substitutions: used white flour instead of soy flour, brown sugar instead of molasses, added 1 T. wheat berries. Letting the pitas cool a bit in moistened cloth is also a key step. Part of people's issues with this recipe seem to be a matter of personal taste. I personally prefer chewy/crusty over soft bread, so if you enjoy a more rustic texture, this is the recipe for you. And I could care less about the pockets - they never hold the filling in anyways, so I just use them like bread slices. But that's just me! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Some changes need to be made in order to have success. I have made this recipe twice with my changes and is foolproof. 1. Instead of molasses I use 2T honey. 2. Flour - 2c WW, 1c White 3. DO NOT ADD SALT TO THE YEAST/WATER/HONEY. SALT KILLS YEAST. ADD WITH DRY INGREDIENTS. 4. Roll your pita's really thin and they will puff up nicely. 5. Only cover them with a damp towel for a few minutes. Otherwise the pockets will seal themselves back up. 6. I experienced best baking success while using only one cookie sheet at a time. Two sheets seemed to suck up too much heat and prevent the pocket from forming. This is a really tasty recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
I'm really not sure how to rate this recipe. First of all, other reviewers are correct: do NOT put the salt in with the yeast when you proof it! That will immediately kill the yeast. Experienced bread bakers would know this, but if you are new to yeast baking, you may not. Therefore, that hinders this recipe. However, if you make it past the yeast proofing stage, this is a nice pita bread. I didn't have soy flour and I wanted a bread that would puff/rise a bit more, so I used 1 cup ww flour and 2 cups all purpose. Next time I may use some wheat glutin with the recipe as written to see if that helps it rise. Bakes up beautifully, and I did have pockets in some of my bread. Does have a nice taste with the molasses and the wheat flour, but you could always sub honey or sugar instead. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I use honey instead of molasses, add the salt to the flour and not the yeast while it is creaming, use 1 cup ww flour, 1 cup all-purpose, 1 cup soy flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This was my first attempt at making pita and this recipe turned out great. As other people noted did not add the salt directly into the yeast, hot water, and molasses. It was added to the flour mixture. They came out of the oven puffed up and very tasty. A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I gave this 4 stars only because it seemed too time consuming. Although the pitas did come out good and are very healthy, I think it's easier to just buy them. If you live at a location where pitas aren't a common find, then this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maya

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
The soy flour made the dough impossibly sticky. I ended up adding about an extra cup of flour just so I could work with it, which made the bred quite dry and cakey. It was filling with a good balance of proteins and carbs byt definitely not nearly as good as storebought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States