Whole Wheat Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This was fantastic pita bread! Just make sure not to put salt right into the yeast mixture. I only used whole wheat flour and it still turned out perfectly. They puffed right up into big nice pockets that we ate with tzatziki,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Wonderful! I followed others' suggestions and was quite pleased. I used all-purpose for the soy flour, and success! The are only 6 pitas, however, so next time I may double the recipe. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessi McAllister

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Wonderful. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
awesome!! mine puffed in the oven, I'm not sure if that's what they do, or if they're supposed to puff before you put them in, but the came out perfect. I used 2 cups wheat, and 1 AP, and agave nectar because I didn't have molasses but the principle was the same and they came out awesome! Leftovers will be used tomorrow for pizza pockets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Fantastic!! I followed the advice of others regarding adding the salt to the flour, and using honey instead of molasses. I also used 2 cups whole wheat flour, and 1 cup white. Putting them in a plastic bag while still fairly warm helped them to deflate. My family thinks I'm pretty talented for having made pita bread, but it was really quite easy! No more store bought pita bread for us! Besides, this stuff is fluffier and fresher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOTSKI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I just started making my own bread and this turned out really well! I actually messed the order up in the directions and they still turned out awesome! It was so fun watching these puff up!!! I used agave necter instead of molasses and all purpose flour instead of soy flour. This is the first time I have ever rated a recipe and I wanted to rate this one cause it really was so much fun making these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraKawatski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Tried this but substituted 2 1/2 teaspoons of instant dry yeast instead of the active dry yeast, and 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour instead of soy flour and it turned out just great! It was my first time making pita bread and I'm so happy with the results. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I really appreciated this recipe to utilize home-ground wheat flour. I didn't have soy, so used some unbleached, umbromated all-purpose white from a local miller instead. They turned out great, despite this being my first time making Pita bread. The pan that I heated with the oven before placing the dough upon it turned out the best Pita pockets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtnfalcon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyrum, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar Hills, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
The flavor of this pita bread was wonderful! I didn't read other reviews until too late, but next time I will add the salt later since the bread didn't rise for me. That was ok this time, though, as I was using it to dip with tzatziki. I used the exact ingredients, and was surprised to find that soy flour had so much protein...so I will continue using it. I also must have baked it too long because it was a little dry...but the taste was still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I'll certainly be making these often! Very easy and delicious! I used honey rather than molasses- perfection! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States