Whole Wheat Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Finally! I don't have to desperately search the stores for "clean" whole wheat pitas! I know exactly what is in them and they are fabulous! This recipe was very easy and delish. It didn't take as much time as I thought it might and I double the recipe so I could keep some in the freezer for a while. I did however, substitute whole wheat pastry flour for the soy since I didn't have any. I will be making these forever, unless a "clean" bakery opens up around here soon, but thats very unlikely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2under2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This stuff is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I used self rising flour instead of soy flour and 2 Tbs of honey instead of molasses. I also added 1 Tbs of organic cane sugar for a little more sweetness. They turned out great! Not too sweet at all. They're a little labor intensive so I'm not sure if I'll ever do them again, but I'm really enjoying them. BTW, they don't puff up and make their own pockets. You have to cut the pockets in them, but it's super easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I've made this quite a few times and they are always terrific! I don't use soy anything so I subbed bread flour and they puffed up just fine. I also use the molasses because it gives it a great, nutty flavor, like wheat bread (which also has molasses in it). The only issue is the directions saying to add the salt with the yeast---that'll kill your yeast, I always add salt after the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARSAILI

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I wasn't thrilled with this recipe, it was far too dry, I ended up adding a considerable amount of extra water. I gave it four stars because the flavor was good, but not better than others I've made, I'll be going back to my original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This was fantastic pita bread! Just make sure not to put salt right into the yeast mixture. I only used whole wheat flour and it still turned out perfectly. They puffed right up into big nice pockets that we ate with tzatziki,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Wonderful! I followed others' suggestions and was quite pleased. I used all-purpose for the soy flour, and success! The are only 6 pitas, however, so next time I may double the recipe. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Wonderful. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
awesome!! mine puffed in the oven, I'm not sure if that's what they do, or if they're supposed to puff before you put them in, but the came out perfect. I used 2 cups wheat, and 1 AP, and agave nectar because I didn't have molasses but the principle was the same and they came out awesome! Leftovers will be used tomorrow for pizza pockets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Fantastic!! I followed the advice of others regarding adding the salt to the flour, and using honey instead of molasses. I also used 2 cups whole wheat flour, and 1 cup white. Putting them in a plastic bag while still fairly warm helped them to deflate. My family thinks I'm pretty talented for having made pita bread, but it was really quite easy! No more store bought pita bread for us! Besides, this stuff is fluffier and fresher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOTSKI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States