Whole Wheat Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I used honey instead of molasses and all purpose flour instead of soy flour. I also proofed the yeast with the water and honey first (added the salt in with the dry ingredients). They puffed up and formed pockets!! Turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conesus, New York, USA
Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Wonderful recipe! This was my first attempt at making pita's and my whole family loved them! I used baking flour instead of soy flour and 1 TBS of both molasses and honey. Very simple to follow and tasted great! Thank you for the money saving recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Nice flavour to these, and very easy to make, I did not have soy flour and subbed AP flour...my only issue with these is that they were not as soft as I would like them...the texture is very dense and I think the WW flour is the culprit....will play with the flour amounts until I get it to where I want it. Great recipe for home use, makes only 6 pitas so that is a boon when I am making them just for myself...once I perfect the flour amounts, I will update this review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Flavour is excellent. Some of mine rose nicely, some not so much. I think perhaps I did not roll them thin enough. They'll still all get eaten and I will try this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
i wasn't going to rate this because, like everyone else, I didn't follow the exact recipe. But I decided to anyway because 90% of recipes reviews I read start with something like, "I didn't follow the recipe exactly..." I don't like soy flour that much so I used WW (1 1/2 cups), AP (1 cup) and barley (1/2 cup) flours. And of course added the salt to the flour, not the yeast. It was easy to make and the bread came out great! Mine didn't puff up as much as the photo but still had pockets. I live at high altitude and didn't know what adjustments to make, if any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Finally! I don't have to desperately search the stores for "clean" whole wheat pitas! I know exactly what is in them and they are fabulous! This recipe was very easy and delish. It didn't take as much time as I thought it might and I double the recipe so I could keep some in the freezer for a while. I did however, substitute whole wheat pastry flour for the soy since I didn't have any. I will be making these forever, unless a "clean" bakery opens up around here soon, but thats very unlikely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2under2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This stuff is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I used self rising flour instead of soy flour and 2 Tbs of honey instead of molasses. I also added 1 Tbs of organic cane sugar for a little more sweetness. They turned out great! Not too sweet at all. They're a little labor intensive so I'm not sure if I'll ever do them again, but I'm really enjoying them. BTW, they don't puff up and make their own pockets. You have to cut the pockets in them, but it's super easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I've made this quite a few times and they are always terrific! I don't use soy anything so I subbed bread flour and they puffed up just fine. I also use the molasses because it gives it a great, nutty flavor, like wheat bread (which also has molasses in it). The only issue is the directions saying to add the salt with the yeast---that'll kill your yeast, I always add salt after the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARSAILI

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I wasn't thrilled with this recipe, it was far too dry, I ended up adding a considerable amount of extra water. I gave it four stars because the flavor was good, but not better than others I've made, I'll be going back to my original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States