Whole Wheat Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Great recipe! Loved the addition of molasses; gives the pitas great flavor. Did not have soy flour so I used 1/2 c flax meal and 1 c all purpose flour. Will try soy next time though. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I made this recipe with the changes suggested by Julie and they taste great! But.... It seemed the the dough was very dry and the baked pockets a bit in the dry side as well. Thinking I will need to play with to play with the recipe a bit... Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Even though I didn't care for the smell of the soy flour, these taste great! These burn quickly at the very high temperature! This is the first time I''ve made pita bread, and I think it went well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I made these and stuffed with sandwich fixins'. It was nice to have a change from regular bread for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I also did some slight modification and used 1 c vital wheat gluten + 1 / 2 c soy flour. In addition to whole wheat Atta (Indian) + agave syrup. The pitas came out perfect with huge pockets every time, and a much healthier alternative to store-bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Just getting into baking breads and such from scratch vs buying at store. Trying to make healthier choices for the family. Tried these this evening and they turned out pretty good. Used honey instead of molasses and 2c wheat flour and 1c all purpose since thats what I had on hand. Will be making again and will try other whole grain flours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
In my opinion this recipe has many flaws.1. I tnhink the yeast is supposed to be proofed earlier than mixing with flour. 2.I think the salt is supposed to be added in the flour, not while proofing yeast.3.Even after proofing the yeast & then adding it correctly to the flour, the flour didn't rise much 1st rise(supposed to get double in size).4.it didnt form fluffy pockects.While baking there were very little pockects, ,but not like separate top &bottom.5.Could make only 4, each 7" round whereas recipe states 6.Also it took additional 10-15 min. to get fully baked.7 &that too using middle rack.the texture was on crisp side rather than soft. I don't know how can this recipe be listed here . taste wise it was fine.But definitely not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gsooo1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I have always just adored pita bread, and this is a healthier, delicious version! I love the taste that the molasses gives. If you're not a fan of molasses, you can leave it out and substitute honey. Thanks so much, "Charlotte's Mom"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I made this recipe today, incorporating the changes recommended by many reviewers (subst. honey for molasses, add salt with flour, use 2c WW and 1c AP). Even without really giving them time to rise properly, these turned out very well! I baked some on a cookie sheet and others on a pizza stone. The cookie sheet ones are permenant flatbreads, but the pizza stone ones puffed up perfectly! Can't wait to stuff them full of goodies! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dexter'smom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
A-mazing! 4 stars because of the salt- thankfully I took the advice of many reviewers and added the salt to the flour mixture instead of the yeast. I also used straight whole wheat flour. Then, FOLLOW DIRECTIONS EXACTLY! (with the exception of salt.) and these will puff up and be soft, yet strong enough for kids to fill themselves :) A total keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States