Whole Wheat, Oatmeal, and Banana Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I thought this recipe was okay. The main photo looks fantastic. Mine did rise up, because of the amount of baking powder, but the browning was definitely not as perfect looking or the shape. However, my real issue is I thought they were sort of doughy in the inside almost sort of still wet despite being done. That was not what I expected. Also, something about the banana taste I did not love. I have tried plain and wheat pancakes from the site, but these were just not my favorite. I believe a ripe, or very ripe banana, is not right for this recipe. The banana flavor is dominant and it needs a very fresh one unlike most baked recipes with banana. I gave it 4 stars, because they are fairly healthy, and I am also sure none will go to waste. They seem like they can be re-heated like most pancakes. They may even dry out a little by the next day. I made 1/2 recipe and got 5 med-large pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
My kids and I loved this recipe. I have transitioned us to whole wheat and organic household and this was perfect. I changed out the two diff flour combo and used whole wheat pastry flour, used organic unsweetened apple sauce instead of oil, and omitted milk powder, and used organic almond milk instead of reg milk. I will be using this over and over again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I made this this morning and it came out great! I didn't use the milk powder, didn't have any. I used more wheat flour than white flour. I blended everything in the food processor. It came out delicious! I am going to freeze the rest and take it to work for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
My family enjoyed these and commented on how filling they were. Half a receipe served four adults. I added a little cinnamon and nutmeg for additional flavor, but will add vanilla yogurt in place of some of the milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty Scates

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Great recipe! I modified it for the season and subbed pumpkin for the banana (about 3/4 cup) and added 1tsp of pumpkin spices. I also soaked the oats after I blended them because I only had old fashioned and I was worried they would be chewy. My kids love those!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb. B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Diamond Vale, Diego Martin, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
These were GREAT!! I didn't have powered milk so omitted it. I used Almond milk. Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I've been searching for a "go to" whole wheat pancake recipe, and I found what I was looking for with this recipe. I did cut the recipe in half. I also considered leaving out the oil, but then decided to use olive oil instead of vegetable oil, since your body needs healthy oil every day anyway. With the whole wheat flour, oatmeal egg and banana, this makes a healthy well balanced meal that is very satisfying. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Yummy. Not as light and fluffy as my recipe with only all-purpose flour, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I was never a pancake fan until my husband made me these. I request them every weekend and we make extra for quick breakfasts before work. we do not use powdered milk or grind the oats, just leave them whole! great texture. we add blueberries, raspberries and chocolate chips! we add cinnamon and use coconut milk instead of cows milk. thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Yummy. I had to add a little extra milk so the pancakes weren't so dense. The teenages in the house liked them. We will have extras to heat up during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Pancakes I

Discover the secret to fluffy, flavorful banana pancakes.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States