Whole Wheat, Oatmeal, and Banana Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Quick tips - I omitted powdered milk, no biggie - Used all whole wheat flour (no all-purpose), still great - Blended quick oats to a flour-like texture and that worked perfectly - Rather than mashing banana, I just threw the egg, milk, banana and vanilla in the blender, mixed it all up and added it to the flour mixture, worked great. I have never been a whole wheat fan, but as I'm getting older and realize how important nutrition really can be, expecially with diabetes in the family, I am trying to just make better choices when possible and using less white flour and sugar is one of the big ones. This was my first whole wheat baking experience and I have to say they were not only much better than I thought they would be, they were FANTASTIC! I will be makng these often. Next time I may add flax seeds and/or protein power to add a little extra umph...probably won't even be able to tell
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I thought these were awesome! I made a half-recipe since I was just cooking for my boyfriend and myself and it yielded 8 pancakes, 1/4 cup of batter each. To make them more healthy I used (for 3 servings) one egg white instead of the egg, 1.5 Tbsp applesauce instead of the oil, and skim milk. As others mentioned I added cinnamon and used a very ripe banana for mashing. With my substitutions the caloric content is about 195 calories per pancake and only 1g of fat, not bad! Thanks for the great recipe! I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle85wv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I made these according to recipe, only adding a little nutmeg and cinnamon and using lowfat buttermilk instead of plain milk. With most pancake recipes that use oatmeal, I let the batter sit on the counter for a bit before making the pancakes. My kids gobbled these up and asked for seconds! I didn't eat any myself, but they sure enjoyed them. I served them with Absolute Best Pancake Syrup, which is also from this site. There were a few leftover, so I froze them in freezer bags in two portions for my kids so all I have to do is heat them in the toaster the next morning. A+ recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Great recipe! The only changes I made here was to use quick cooking oats (didn't place in the blender), I added 2 bananas instead of 1, I also omitted the sugar and it was just perfect. I think that 1/4 cup of sugar would have been too sweet for our taste. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I was 1/2 asleep this am when I made these - and missed the whole grinding the oats step - yikes! Decided to forge ahead and make them anyhow - and WOW! They are so delicious! If you can mess up as much as I did and they still come out great - now that's a recipe!!! LOL! I didn't feel like dragging out the milk powder so skipped that..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Desveaux McLean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
A very good pancake. I recommend using less sugar and more banana. I liked it best with an additional egg, some flax, and chopped strawberries in the mix. It has a subtle oatty flavor, which I really enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by culturecooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
YUM! These were delish and healthy! I added an extra banana and about a tsp of cinnamon, and am glad I did. I think they may have been a little bland without this. I didn't have any of the dried milk powder on hand, so I didn't add that, and didn't miss it at all either. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
These turned out really well. I used three ripe bananas, used less milk (less than a cup), and they were moist and yummy. I also added a tsp of cinnamon and a 1/4 nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
These pancakes are FANTASTIC! My almost-one-year-old and I just gobbled them up for breakfast. What a terrific way to incorporate some additional nutrition into her (our) favorite breakfast. Thank you for posting this recipe- we will be sure to use it repeatedly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
If I could add more stars I would!!!!!!!! SO delicious. I omitted the milk powder and I threw some fresh blueberries on the pancakes once they were cooking before I flipped them. My 4 yr old and 2 yr old and I all ate them without syrup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Pancakes I

Discover the secret to fluffy, flavorful banana pancakes.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States