Whole Wheat, Oatmeal, and Banana Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Quick tips - I omitted powdered milk, no biggie - Used all whole wheat flour (no all-purpose), still great - Blended quick oats to a flour-like texture and that worked perfectly - Rather than mashing banana, I just threw the egg, milk, banana and vanilla in the blender, mixed it all up and added it to the flour mixture, worked great. I have never been a whole wheat fan, but as I'm getting older and realize how important nutrition really can be, expecially with diabetes in the family, I am trying to just make better choices when possible and using less white flour and sugar is one of the big ones. This was my first whole wheat baking experience and I have to say they were not only much better than I thought they would be, they were FANTASTIC! I will be makng these often. Next time I may add flax seeds and/or protein power to add a little extra umph...probably won't even be able to tell
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I made these according to recipe, only adding a little nutmeg and cinnamon and using lowfat buttermilk instead of plain milk. With most pancake recipes that use oatmeal, I let the batter sit on the counter for a bit before making the pancakes. My kids gobbled these up and asked for seconds! I didn't eat any myself, but they sure enjoyed them. I served them with Absolute Best Pancake Syrup, which is also from this site. There were a few leftover, so I froze them in freezer bags in two portions for my kids so all I have to do is heat them in the toaster the next morning. A+ recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I thought these were awesome! I made a half-recipe since I was just cooking for my boyfriend and myself and it yielded 8 pancakes, 1/4 cup of batter each. To make them more healthy I used (for 3 servings) one egg white instead of the egg, 1.5 Tbsp applesauce instead of the oil, and skim milk. As others mentioned I added cinnamon and used a very ripe banana for mashing. With my substitutions the caloric content is about 195 calories per pancake and only 1g of fat, not bad! Thanks for the great recipe! I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle85wv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Great recipe! The only changes I made here was to use quick cooking oats (didn't place in the blender), I added 2 bananas instead of 1, I also omitted the sugar and it was just perfect. I think that 1/4 cup of sugar would have been too sweet for our taste. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I was 1/2 asleep this am when I made these - and missed the whole grinding the oats step - yikes! Decided to forge ahead and make them anyhow - and WOW! They are so delicious! If you can mess up as much as I did and they still come out great - now that's a recipe!!! LOL! I didn't feel like dragging out the milk powder so skipped that..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Desveaux McLean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
A very good pancake. I recommend using less sugar and more banana. I liked it best with an additional egg, some flax, and chopped strawberries in the mix. It has a subtle oatty flavor, which I really enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by culturecooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
YUM! These were delish and healthy! I added an extra banana and about a tsp of cinnamon, and am glad I did. I think they may have been a little bland without this. I didn't have any of the dried milk powder on hand, so I didn't add that, and didn't miss it at all either. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
These turned out really well. I used three ripe bananas, used less milk (less than a cup), and they were moist and yummy. I also added a tsp of cinnamon and a 1/4 nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
These pancakes are FANTASTIC! My almost-one-year-old and I just gobbled them up for breakfast. What a terrific way to incorporate some additional nutrition into her (our) favorite breakfast. Thank you for posting this recipe- we will be sure to use it repeatedly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
If I could add more stars I would!!!!!!!! SO delicious. I omitted the milk powder and I threw some fresh blueberries on the pancakes once they were cooking before I flipped them. My 4 yr old and 2 yr old and I all ate them without syrup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Pancakes I

Discover the secret to fluffy, flavorful banana pancakes.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States