Whole Wheat, Oatmeal, and Banana Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Very good. I did 1 cup all purpose and 3/4 cup white whole wheat. I used 1/3 cup brown sugar and 3 bananas. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This is a great recipe! I was really happy with the way the pancakes turned out. The only thing that was a little frustrating was the cooking time- I couldn't seem to get it quite right. Might have needed to thin the batter or change the temperature of the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Great recipe! I made it exactly as it is, except... 1. I halved it (and it made 6 pancakes [I used about 3 spoonfuls of batter to make each cake. The last one was a bit larger, though]--just as the recipe said it would. I ate 3 and was full) 2. I left out the dry milk powder 3. I used a food processor instead of a blender for the oats. 4. I threw in a whole banana although the recipe called for 1/2 a banana (since I halved it)--definitely a good choice! 5. I added a bit of cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg to the batter. Loved these. Very tasty. In the future I will double the amount of banana again and add cinnamon and nutmeg since that worked so well this time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I love how this tastes like banana bread in pancake form, but it's still on the healthy side! I used all whole wheat flour, and it worked great! Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
SO DELICIOUS and insanely sweet! They taste better than regular pancakes. Syrup was almost unnecessary. We (college students) halved the recipe, but even for 2 people that was a mound of pancakes. I'd say half the recipe would feed 3-4 provided you also served it with some fruit or another side. We used all whole wheat, half the amount of brown sugar, double the amount of banana, light vanilla soy milk, and left out the dry milk powder. Next time I'll probably leave out the brown sugar and experiment subbing applesauce for the oil. This would definitely be fantastic with some walnuts as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Saltado
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
These are seriously good pancakes! I did make a few alterations that I felt worth mentioning. I had two squishy bananas, so I added both. I did not add the milk powder like others have indicated. I added two eggs because our farm eggs are small. The main change was that I only added one cup of milk. I think the batter would be way too thin. With my changes, the batter was exactly as I liked it. They cooked wonderfully. The taste was great and banana-y. I topped mine with strawberry syrup that I made. It was sublime. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Yum, yum and yum. These are a delicious and wholesome breakfast. A few additions I made: using buttermilk for half of the milk and adding 2 tbls. of ground flax seed. Top with blueberries and fresh maple syrup. You will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Absolutely Delicious!!! I omitted the dry milk and added a little more banana. Our kid's loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Fantastic! I wanted a recipe for pancakes that my girls could eat with syrup and I wouldn't feel horrible about all the sugar along with all the carbs of normal pancakes. I followed some of the suggested substitutions (egg white vs egg and applesauce vs veg oil and no milk powder because I had none) to make it even more healthy hoping for okay pancakes. But what I got were simply delicious healthy pancakes. Phenom, amom2boys, you got it right here. My girls can have syrup with these and they aren't sugarizing themselves. Thank YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Sundays are pancake day here. I rotate the kinds I make... These have become my kids favorite, they ask for these specifically a lot, so they are made quite frequently. :D I always double the recipe, and freeze the leftovers in baggies with 2 per bag, for quick breakfasts through the week. I leave out the milk powder and add extra banana... cook up half, then add mini chocolate chips to the other half. Thank you for posting the recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Pancakes I

Discover the secret to fluffy, flavorful banana pancakes.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States