Whole Wheat Oat Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Kilthau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
These were delicious! I substituted almond milk for the milk and added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and a grated, peeled apple. Very tasty! A definite favorite that will be enjoyed again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I used coconut oil instead of canola oil. I also used whole raw oats instead of oat flour, added a tsp. of cinnamon and chopped pecans. I can't purchase whole wheat flour where I live, so I just used white flour. These were still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This recipe makes a healthy tasting waffle with great texture. My family wasn’t as impressed with them because they were a little heavier than the traditional waffle, but I thought they were nice for a change. Oat flour is easily made by grinding old fashion oats in the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Excellent! I made the oat flour by putting steel cut oats in the blender. I used 2 teaspoons of baking powder instead of one. My family loved these waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Great waffles. They're a bit heavier than the nutrition-less kind out of the box, but for my family that was a good thing. There's a sweetness to them but not too sweet. Followed the recipe exactly except that I didnt have oat flour. So like others, i put some whole oats in my food processor and whirled away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This recipe was amazing! If you like sweet things, these will definitely please you! I added some cinnamon and flax seeds to the batter as well (neither addition was noticeable in terms of taste, but it's nice to have the extra flax nutrients and the blood sugar balance effect from the cinnamon added in!). The egg white makes them so fluffy and slightly crisp- it's like a funnel cake without being fried. I could easily put vanilla ice cream on one and eat it for dessert :P. I would definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
It was a real treat for my family, I mean I could just eat the waffle with out our syrup, it's really that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I did not have oat flour, what I did was use equal amounts oats that I "ground" down in my blender to a fine consistancy (think whole wheat flour). Other than that, I kept to the recipe exact. This waffle turned out soft and fluffy with a crisp exterior--a wonderful waffle! NOTE: Keep in mind when you use whole wheat flour or oats in any form that after you mix the batter up, you will have to let the batter sit for 5-10 minutes to get the whole wheat flour/oats soak up some of the liquid. This way, the batter won't be thin and run all over the outside of your waffle iron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Makes good crispy waffles. A little on the sweet side for our taste, so I will play around with the sugar. Whipping the egg whites really produces a nice batter consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States