Whole Wheat Maple Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
This recipe is great- I happened to find maple yogurt at Whole Foods, so I used it! This is healthy & low cal. And surprisingly very moist! Reminds me a bit of gingerbread. All my quick bread recipes need to have foil on the top the last half of the baking time to prevent over-browning. No exception here. Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Very good and good for you. I substituted buttermilk for skim (its extrememely low in fat and very rich tasting). I cooked my first one 45 min and it was too long, made it dry. I cooked the second one approx. 40 min and it made a big difference, I also loosely covered the top with foil the last 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
i love this bread! i ate like half a loaf in a day! i made this even lower calorie than it all ready is: i substituted splenda for the sugar, egg substitute, skim milk, and just a bit of syrup for the taste. this was awesome! so moist, and crusty if you bake it a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
This was very good! I agree with another poster that the bake time needs decreasing. I set my timer for 40min and that was too long. Very good and healthy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HJCARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
This bread was easy and very delicious! It was moist and flavorful. I added 2/3 cup of chopped dates and it was a great tea bread. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stonehill26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
This bread was quick and easy to make, and fairly tasty, but not excellent. I used 1/2 low fat vanilla yogurt & 1/2 plain, since that is what I had. I decreased the baking time to 40 minutes and that was plenty. I was expecting it to be sweeter like most quick breads, esp with all that maple syrup, but it was only mildly sweet. Nice texture, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This was alright. I used vanilla yogurt and upped the maply syrup by 1/4 cup because I love maple flavor and sweeter breads. The flavor was OK, but the texture was a little dry and crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
So maybe I'm jumping the gun a little since I haven't even pulled this loaf out of the oven yet, but the batter/dough tasted so good, it is rising so beautifully (better than any bread I've made recently), and has the most delightful color. I had to substitute 1 T milled flax seed + 3 T water for the egg because I ran out yesterday and haven't been able to get through the snow to the store yet. I also used 1 2/3 c whole wheat flour + 1/3 c unbleached all-purpose flour because I didn't have any pastry flour. I can't wait to taste this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Manitowish Waters, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
To skinny down the recipe as much as I can, I used non-fat vanilla yogurt, skim milk and sugerless syrup with maple flavour. It smelt amazing, but tasted bland. I had it in the oven for 35 mins, it was more than enough. 30 mins seems more like it. Oh well, I will smother it maple syrup when I have it for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
This was delicious. It is so healthy and so easy to make. I will for sure be keeping this recipe. It's a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States