Whole Wheat Maple Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Absolutely amazing. Moist and flavorful. Delicoius warm. I made a few changes though: 1. Upped the milk to 1/2 a cup 2. Used splenda instead of syrup 3. Baked for 40 minutes, the last 10 foil covered. 4. Doubled the cinnamon, left out the nutmeg. This is some of the best bread I've had in a long time. I'm eating my second slice now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie A

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
This was very good! I agree with another poster that the bake time needs decreasing. I set my timer for 40min and that was too long. Very good and healthy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HJCARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
So delicious bread for breakfast ! Kids enjoy it with chocolate paste .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by namuelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salon-De-Provence, Provence-Alpes-Côte D'azur, France
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This recipe does not need any modifications to make it "light" or "low fat". It is already a healthy bread and if you use sugar free maple syrup..... of course it is going to be bland. The maple syrup is what gives it flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
This recipe is great- I happened to find maple yogurt at Whole Foods, so I used it! This is healthy & low cal. And surprisingly very moist! Reminds me a bit of gingerbread. All my quick bread recipes need to have foil on the top the last half of the baking time to prevent over-browning. No exception here. Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
i love this bread! i ate like half a loaf in a day! i made this even lower calorie than it all ready is: i substituted splenda for the sugar, egg substitute, skim milk, and just a bit of syrup for the taste. this was awesome! so moist, and crusty if you bake it a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
This bread was easy and very delicious! It was moist and flavorful. I added 2/3 cup of chopped dates and it was a great tea bread. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stonehill26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
So maybe I'm jumping the gun a little since I haven't even pulled this loaf out of the oven yet, but the batter/dough tasted so good, it is rising so beautifully (better than any bread I've made recently), and has the most delightful color. I had to substitute 1 T milled flax seed + 3 T water for the egg because I ran out yesterday and haven't been able to get through the snow to the store yet. I also used 1 2/3 c whole wheat flour + 1/3 c unbleached all-purpose flour because I didn't have any pastry flour. I can't wait to taste this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Manitowish Waters, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Wow I was surprised how amazing this recipe was with whole wheat flour. I made them into muffins instead of loaf pans. Kids ate them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Very nice soft textured whole wheat bread. I substitued 1 cup of Splenda instead of the maple syrup. For cinnamon raisin bread I increased the cin to 1 tsp and added about a 1/2 c of raisins. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States