Whole Wheat Honey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
This bread is wonderful. I have been making it 2-3 times per week for the last few weeks. All three of my boys love it, even the one who usually gives his bread to the dogs. It is soft enough to use for sandwiches but flavorful enough to eat alone. I don't keep dry milk or shortening in my kitchen, so I use 1C water + 1/8C skim milk as well as olive oil in place of shortening. If your bread is too dense, you probably used too much flour. The texture comes out best if you weigh out your flour instead of measuring by volume. Right now (winter in Minnesota) 375g is perfect. In humid weather the weight of flour needed will increase slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Excellent Honey Wheat Bread. Making a 2nd loaf right now. I think this will be our go to sandwich bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
My whole family loved this bread. We also substituted butter for the shortening and used 1 cup of white and 2 cups of whole wheat flour instead of 3 cups of whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Our favorite everyday bread! I won't buy store bread anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
My friend gave me her breadmaker that she no longer used, and we're in heaven! This recipe is the first one that I tried... so yummy! I made a few changes to make it dairy free...I used Earth Balance stick margarine instead of shortening or butter, and used 3/4 cup water with 3/8 cup soy milk, warmed to about 80 degrees in the microwave. (Instead of the milk powder.) I also added a little vital wheat gluten for better rising, about 2 tsp, but you could probably add more. I adapted the recipe for a 1 and 1/2 lb. loaf, so your measurements might be a little different. I used the whole wheat setting with a medium crust, and it has ocme out perfectly every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I'm a novice bread baker, this was my second loaf ever to bake and it came out great. I used my bread machine on a basic loaf setting, not the wheat and followed a couple other suggestions in other reviews, put the salt and honey with the water and I used Canola oil. The bread came out nice and crusty, inside soft but not too soft which is the way we like it.This loaf came out much better then the recipe I got with my new bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I don't have a bread machine, but I really wanted to make 100% whole wheat flour bread. So I did it old fashion way. I used 4 cups of whole wheat four because it was too wet. It didn't rise very much, so I ended up with pretty dense bread but tastes great!! I set my oven 375, and the crust turned out a little hard so next time I would try 360. Because it didn't rise a lot, and texture turned out dense (but still soft and yummy!), it was very easy to slice the bread, however, if anyone knows something I should know when I want to make a bread machine recipe by hand, please tell me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan
Living In: Highland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Whit
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I have XY chromosomes, made this recipe and it still tasted fantastic! Followed the instructions to combine all dry ingredients and put the salt with the liquids and it turned out great. I also put in 1/4 cup of oil instead of 1 1/2 tablespoons of shortening. This is now a staple at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I added vital wheat gluten (3TBS). Came out well. A nice slightly dense wheat bread, perfect texture for making sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle R. DeMorest Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I have been looking for a better whole wheat bread recipe and this is my favorite! My kids love it, too, which makes me very happy. It reminds me of bread I use to get at a cafe I use to go to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 670) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States