Whole Wheat Honey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This bread was wonderfully moist. I took the advice of a couple of others who baked this bread by using 2 cups whole wheat flour and one cup bread flour. I also made sure the temp. of the water was 120 degrees, and I put in on the light crust, white bread cycle for the 1.5 pound loaf. It is perfect. My kids eat it like they've never had fresh bread before! The crust is not too crunchy, and the bread is not too dense, as would be the case if I used all 3 cups of whole wheat flour as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
The bread was delicious, but unfortunately no one was there to remove the bread from the bread machine when it had finished baking. The whole loaf sunk into a dense block. It was still moist and had a great honey taste! I used oil instead of shortening and 1 Tbsp milk + 1 c. water + 1 Tbsp. water instead of the milk powder and water. The yeast was also a 2.25 tsp package, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I found this bread to be almost sickeningly sweet. I did make it again, however, but I only used about 1 tbsp of honey. It turned out much better. I also added 1/4 cup of wheat gluten to make it lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
mine did not rise the way it was supposed to I am guessing it was a yeast problem... the flavor was very very good even though it was very dense.... a good tasting whole wheat bread....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Wow! Made this yesterday and it's almost gone. This is by far the best whole wheat bread I've found for the bread machine. The texture is amazingly soft and even. The flavor is sweet and full. It will be a weekly staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIZMOJO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This bread is delicious! I did not care for the wheat bread recipe that came with my bread maker so I tried this one. I followed Michelle from Manitoba's suggestions and took out 1 TBL of flour for each cup and replaced it with vital wheat gluten. I added the salt to the water, halved the honey, used butter instead of shortening, and used yeast for bread-makers. I also made a couple of high-altitude adjustments since I live in Colorado. According to the direction for my bread maker, I reduced the water by 2 tsp, and the yeast by 1/4 of a tsp. I cooked on the wheat and light setting. The bread was light and the crust nice and crispy. I will definitely be making this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This really IS as good as everyone has said! I didn't have the powdered milk so I did one cup water and 1/4 cup buttermilk. As it was mixing it the dough looked really wet, so I added a palmful more of flour; it still looked wet, but I left it alone. So glad I did! Crust is...crusty, and inside is nice and moist. My bread knife slices right through this bread as though it were store-bought. Will make regularly! I have an old, second-hand bread machine, and I used the "White Medium, 2 lb." setting, as previous reviewers had mentioned the crust being too dark - worked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadaFun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Love this recipe & so does my whole family including my finicky 2 year old. I made some adjustments and substituted dry GOAT'S milk for the regular milk and coconut oil for the shortening and it turned out great. I also added the wet ingredients first, but included the salt with that as others indicated. I heated up the water until almost boiling before adding it to the machine, and that seemed to do the trick getting the yeast to rise because it did so nicely. I used the Basic and Light settings on the bread machine and it turned out a beautiful golden brown on the outside while tender on the inside. I really wouldn't change anything other than possibly more honey if you want a sweeter more dessert-like bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
The bread turned out even better than I'd hoped! Per others' suggestions, I substituted 1/8 of milk and 1 cup of water for the dry milk powder and 1-1/8 cup of water. I also replaced the shortening with olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I'm new to bread making in the bread machine...but to me this recipe was very good. Like reviewers suggested I put my machine on Basic instead of whole wheat. I also programmed it to "Light". I added the salt w/ the wet ingredients which I added first and also substituted the dry milk w/ an 1/8 cup of regular milk. Bread was fairly dense but quite moist and I enjoyed the slightly sweeter flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 661) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States