Whole Wheat Honey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
The best whole wheat dough I've made yet! My bread machine does not have a ww dough cycle, so I kneaded it a bit longer and let it rise for longer as well. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Great taste. I would like to adapt the recipe to 2 lb...any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This is a very good basic bread machine recipe. I have made a few changes and am now very happy with how it is turning out. I changed the 3 cups of whole wheat flour to 2 cups and then added 1/2 cup quinoi flour, 1/4 cup milled flaxseed and 1/4 cup kasha. It adds more complexity to the flavours. I reduced the honey from 1/3 cup to a scant 1/4 cup as I don't like bread to taste sweet. I substituted olive oil for shortening as it is a healthier oil. It does come out very dense but I don't mind that at all. We just slice it more thinly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Made this bread twice. The first time as written, and it is indeed 5 star. The second time I took another reviewer's suggestions; I mixed 3 Tbsp. wheat gluten to the flour, used butter instead of shortening, added the salt to the water (not the flour) so as not to kill the yeast, and used setting 1 (light, white bread.) It is phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This bread was wonderfully moist. I took the advice of a couple of others who baked this bread by using 2 cups whole wheat flour and one cup bread flour. I also made sure the temp. of the water was 120 degrees, and I put in on the light crust, white bread cycle for the 1.5 pound loaf. It is perfect. My kids eat it like they've never had fresh bread before! The crust is not too crunchy, and the bread is not too dense, as would be the case if I used all 3 cups of whole wheat flour as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
The bread was delicious, but unfortunately no one was there to remove the bread from the bread machine when it had finished baking. The whole loaf sunk into a dense block. It was still moist and had a great honey taste! I used oil instead of shortening and 1 Tbsp milk + 1 c. water + 1 Tbsp. water instead of the milk powder and water. The yeast was also a 2.25 tsp package, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I found this bread to be almost sickeningly sweet. I did make it again, however, but I only used about 1 tbsp of honey. It turned out much better. I also added 1/4 cup of wheat gluten to make it lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
mine did not rise the way it was supposed to I am guessing it was a yeast problem... the flavor was very very good even though it was very dense.... a good tasting whole wheat bread....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Wow! Made this yesterday and it's almost gone. This is by far the best whole wheat bread I've found for the bread machine. The texture is amazingly soft and even. The flavor is sweet and full. It will be a weekly staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIZMOJO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This bread is delicious! I did not care for the wheat bread recipe that came with my bread maker so I tried this one. I followed Michelle from Manitoba's suggestions and took out 1 TBL of flour for each cup and replaced it with vital wheat gluten. I added the salt to the water, halved the honey, used butter instead of shortening, and used yeast for bread-makers. I also made a couple of high-altitude adjustments since I live in Colorado. According to the direction for my bread maker, I reduced the water by 2 tsp, and the yeast by 1/4 of a tsp. I cooked on the wheat and light setting. The bread was light and the crust nice and crispy. I will definitely be making this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 655) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States