Whole Wheat Honey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Tasty bread though it cooked up pretty dense. Will try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Great recipe! I substituted 2 tbs of canola oil for the shortening and added 1/4 cup wheat gluten. Bread turned out so soft and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Soft, sweet, delicious. I did add 3T wheat gluten and did about half water, half skim milk. Absolutely in love with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I recently found this recipe and am making it for the 3rd time this month. It's absolutely delicious and so simple! I use the 3 Tbls gluten, olive oil for the shortening, and light crust and basic setting as suggested. I usually have to add a bit more flour as the dough is sticky after the first kneading, but that's easy to do. This is my favorite bread right now. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMIK124

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I subbed shortening with olive oil, but otherwise made as written, using the Basic setting on my bread machine rather than WW, per other reviewers. I had a little trouble slicing it evenly but that is more my fault than the bread's as I don't own a great bread knife or a slicing guide. Texture is excellent, nice and moist but dense at the same time. Will try cutting honey back to 1/4 c next time as it was just a tad sweet for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I love this bread! It's worth a second try if the first run fails. I'm not sure if it's my conditions or my fresh milled flour (hard white wheat this time), but most recipes fail as written for me. In this case I added 2 tablespoons of vital wheat gluten and used only a cup of water. Also I used the basic/light crust setting. The taste was spot on. I need to tweak the water a little more as the sweet spot is somewhere between 1 c and 1 and 1/8th c for me, but I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I love this bread. Never thought that Whole wheat could be so delicious!! Still i fail sometimes that the dough doesnt rise enough.try to change the order of putting ingredients and so on. Thinking of it makes me crave for it again thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Very, very good. Doesn't even need topping to be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This bread turns out perfectly every time. I grind my own hard wheat and add 1 Tbsp of wheat gluten to the recipe. I have also added sunflower seeds and the family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Mmmm, tasty! And so easy! I think this will become a weekly staple at our house. I did not substitute any ingredients, but did add in a small handful of cracked wheat to the mix. I added the salt into the warm water - not sure that made a difference or not for rising, but my loaf rose perfectly and had a perfect crust. I set my machine on the standard white loaf 2 lb cycle. The only trouble I ran across was trying to get the loaf out after it had cooked. The bottom was a little stuck, but it eventually released.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Jenks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 660) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States