Whole Wheat Honey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
This is a great and easy whole-wheat bread! I did slightly modify the recipe, but this is something I do to all breads I make, manual or machine. First, I add 1 Tbl vital wheat gluten (I see some people here doing more, but I'm usually OK with this). Additionally, I replaced 1 Tbl water with 1 Tbl vinegar (so I used 1 cup + 1 Tbl water and 1 Tbl vinegar). I think this helps makes it softer and chewier. I also manually shape the loaf and remove the paddle right before the last rise cycle (my machine notifies me of this and allows me to do it, as do many). This ensures a good, even loaf shape and just a little hole in the bottom instead of a big hole for the paddle (which I still get even though my machine has a collapsible paddle). My only issue is that the crust seems to be a bit thick, but that's a pretty common issue with all machine breads for me, so I think it's just something about how breadmakers work. Perhaps the "light crust" setting on my machine would help. I usually prefer to use the machine to mix and knead the dough then shape and bake in my own loaf pan in the oven, so that's probably what I'll do in the future (at least once the weather cools down!). I imagine I'd get even better results this way, but I wanted to try the whole thing in the machine (minus slight intervention on my part) just to see how it works--and that is quite well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Great recipe! I added the gluten to it, and used butter instead of shortening. I also warmed the liquid before adding it. I set my bread maker to "wheat". It turned out perfect -- not a flaw. Everybody ate it up and loved it --- without even putting butter or anything on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
This is my go to recipe for bread. I replace 1 cup of flour with 1 cup wheat germ and add 1 tablespoon of cinnamon. My 5 year old nephew will only eat white bread but thinks this is a special treat and asks for it when he comes over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Great bread & easy recipe! My kids' LOVED this bread which gives it a +++ in my book. I just made a loaf... Now...? I am making another loaf because the loaf I made is ALL gone! My boys', ages 5 & 4, literally asked... "Make sure you put this bread in our lunchbox for lunch!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I made this recipe and followed the advice of other reviewers. I substituted 1/8 cup of milk for the dry milk powder and used 1 cup of white bread flour. I used stone ground hard whole wheat flour. The bread rose beautifully and had a very nice texture. My family found the bread to be a bit too sweet. Next time I will reduce the honey by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Best bread I have made so far! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Tasty bread though it cooked up pretty dense. Will try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Great recipe! I substituted 2 tbs of canola oil for the shortening and added 1/4 cup wheat gluten. Bread turned out so soft and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Soft, sweet, delicious. I did add 3T wheat gluten and did about half water, half skim milk. Absolutely in love with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I recently found this recipe and am making it for the 3rd time this month. It's absolutely delicious and so simple! I use the 3 Tbls gluten, olive oil for the shortening, and light crust and basic setting as suggested. I usually have to add a bit more flour as the dough is sticky after the first kneading, but that's easy to do. This is my favorite bread right now. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMIK124

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 656) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States