Whole Wheat Honey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Outstanding!!! I am so impressed with this recipe. It adds so much flavor to sandwiches. Light years better than any bread you can buy in the store. I will be making this every week. And so easy!!!!! I'M IN LOVE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I make about 5-6 loafs every few week, just love this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littleaton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Great recipe. Just starting out with bread making and so far have not had great luck, but I really liked this one. I used butter instead of shortening. Also threw in some raisins, but next time I do that I will add some cinnamon as well for flavour. Next time I might also try substituting 1 Cup white flour (as others have suggested) just to make it slightly more appealing to my picky kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This one is a keeper, thank you for sharing. I have tried many wheat bread recipes that just didn't work out and this one is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I just got my bread machine. The first loaf of was the whole wheat recipe out of the instruction manual. It was a small, hard brick. It then made a white loaf that turned out really tall, but had a weird texture. Then, I tried this recipe. It was PERFECT!!! The crust was thin and not hard and crunchy like the others. It is moist and has a great honey wheat flavor. The height was perfect and will make slices similar to bought bread. I think this will be our go-to bread recipe. Thanks so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This is REALLY good. It's very moist and dense. It did fall a little bit, but it was still crazy delicious. The only thing I changed the second time is I put half the honey so it wasn't so sweet. With that little adjustment I think I am going to have a new staple in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickyboo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Delicious bread that worked well in the bread machine. I used 1 cup of unbleached all purpose flour and two cups stone ground whole wheat flour, butter for shortening, almond milk instead of the water plus milk powder, and about 1 tablespoon of maple syrup included in the 1/3 cup of honey ( I ran out of honey). The recipe was forgiving of these tweeks and we woke up to the inviting smell of fresh bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Edelman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Thanks for the recipe. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
This is a great and easy whole-wheat bread! I did slightly modify the recipe, but this is something I do to all breads I make, manual or machine. First, I add 1 Tbl vital wheat gluten (I see some people here doing more, but I'm usually OK with this). Additionally, I replaced 1 Tbl water with 1 Tbl vinegar (so I used 1 cup + 1 Tbl water and 1 Tbl vinegar). I think this helps makes it softer and chewier. I also manually shape the loaf and remove the paddle right before the last rise cycle (my machine notifies me of this and allows me to do it, as do many). This ensures a good, even loaf shape and just a little hole in the bottom instead of a big hole for the paddle (which I still get even though my machine has a collapsible paddle). My only issue is that the crust seems to be a bit thick, but that's a pretty common issue with all machine breads for me, so I think it's just something about how breadmakers work. Perhaps the "light crust" setting on my machine would help. I usually prefer to use the machine to mix and knead the dough then shape and bake in my own loaf pan in the oven, so that's probably what I'll do in the future (at least once the weather cools down!). I imagine I'd get even better results this way, but I wanted to try the whole thing in the machine (minus slight intervention on my part) just to see how it works--and that is quite well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Great recipe! I added the gluten to it, and used butter instead of shortening. I also warmed the liquid before adding it. I set my bread maker to "wheat". It turned out perfect -- not a flaw. Everybody ate it up and loved it --- without even putting butter or anything on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 654) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States