Whole Wheat Honey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This was super tasty and not at all without flavour. In fact it was a million times better than a lot of recipes I've made. The only thing I wasn't sure about was that it sunk a bit after it came out of the breadmaker. It looked beautiful when it came out though and tasted amazing. I'm not sure if it was me or the recipe, or my breadmaker that caused the sinkage...I did put it on a timer overnight, so that could be it. All in all a fantastic whole wheat bread recipe. This will be my staple recipe now. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Winter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This is an extraordinarily delicious loaf. Made this in the Zojirushi 2lb bread maker on the 'basic wheat' setting. I adjusted the yield to 16 servings from 12 to accomodate the larger machine, used butter in place of shortening, and instead of dried milk powder, I substituted 1/2 cup of the water with whole milk. The flour used was Daisy Flour's whole wheat Warthog bread flour. This is one of the best breads I have ever experienced. The crust is perfectly crisp and brown, and the inside is a beautifully fine texture. The flavor is brilliant, and the bread seems absurdly versatile. Great for breakfast with a little jam, perfect for sandwiches (the sweetness of the honey is subtle enough not to overpower any toppings), and just tried it with a bit of nutella- dessert works too! Thank you for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I was looking for a whole wheat recipe that is not as dense and heavy as the one in my bread machine's cookbook, and this fit the bill perfectly. The loaf came out looking and smelling beautiful, and when I took it out of the pan it felt so light and perfect. A warm piece with butter on it confirmed that this is my new every day recipe. I will probably make it twice a week b/c it will get eaten so quickly around here. Thank you for this wonderful bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I read most of the reviews before trying this recipe. I used butter instead of shortening. I made sure that the salt didn't kill the yeast. I could not add the vital wheat gluten because I did not have any, but I would certainly try it in other recipes in the future. As for this recipe, I am not a fan. It is too, too sweet. I did not enjoy the flavor at all. Not to burst anyone's bubble, but this bread is not as healthy as some of the reviewers are making it out to be. It is nutritionally the same as white bread because the grains of wheat have already been ground (into flour) rather than left whole. Until I can find a decent recipe for whole grain bread, I think I will stick with my store-bought Ezekiel bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This bread was beyond yummy and moist and sweet. The most delicious wheat bread I have made. However, 3 cups of flour was definitely not enough. I had to increase it to 4 cups. This may be due to the fact that I was using home milled fresh flour but just be aware to check your dough during the first kneading to see if it is too wet. If it's soupy, it's too wet;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I tried making this bread 4 times this week to get it right, because it bothered me to follow the instructions and not have it turn out! The first try, I followed the recipe exactly (except using butter instead of shortening and 1/8C milk for powdered milk) and it was a flop. I also used soft whole wheat flour (not thinking there was a difference).The recipe states to use the whole wheat setting but like other reviewers suggested, they said use basic and the time given on the recipe was closer to the basic setting, so I used basic. The salt was added with the flour (because I consider that a dry ingredient). The loaf was dense and sweet. So it was a fail. The second attempt, I used whole wheat bread machine flour as the only change and that was a flop. Slightly better than the last, but still horrible in terms of rising. So now, here are the tricks. You can use hard whole wheat flour or whole wheat bread machine flour, BUT remove 1 tbsp for every cup you put in, and replace it with gluten flour (which is the same as vital wheat gluten - so many names). Add the salt with the liquids on the bottom. And use INSTANT yeast instead of dry active yeast and DO set it on the Whole Grain/Wheat Setting. It allows longer time for rising and gives you wonderful whole wheat bread. Better than store-bought. And use the light crust setting. I've played arounf and added seeds, herbs, flax and it's great. I just use less than half the honey because I found the full too sweet - my bf agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle_dimsum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This bread is the best wheat bread I've made in a very long time. It's heavier than white bread, obviously, but considering I used 100% whole wheat flour, it's a nice light(er) wheat bread. I did use vital wheat gluten, as some other reviewers suggested, and I think that's what gave the bread it's lighter texture. I also used butter instead of shortening. Excellent flavor, too. I don't have a bread machine, so I used my cusinart, putting in the dry ingredients, then adding the wet while the machine was running. I did soften the yeast in the water first. I had powdered buttermilk on the counter while I was working, so I just used that in place of regular powdered milk. Fantastic 100% whole wheat bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
great recipe! i follow it exactly and have perfect bread every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
The bread turned out to be very good, but like all other wheat breads I have tried, it was more risen towards to top and more heavy on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
just cut the first slice and it is delicious!!! I just changed a few little things and used soy milk instead of dry milk powder and I used coconut oil instead of shortening and it came out perfect :-) . Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 650) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States