Whole Wheat Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Wow! Fabulous light texture, intense molasses flavor, very moist and tender. Follow this recipe as written and you'll be very happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This was delicious! I was afraid it would taste too "whole wheat-y," but it was yummy, moist and rich. I only used 3/4 molasses because that's all I had on hand. I also used 1/2 c oil and the full amount of honey (3/4). Thanks, Pat, for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Delicious--what a great way to get another serving of whole grain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I thought this was a good recipe. I was surprised that the batter was so thin but it baked up beautifully and light. I used Spelt flour and got a good result. I like the fact that it is not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I'm delighted with this recipe ! Perhaps it is the whole wheat flour that makes this gingerbread almost chewy. The crust has a nice, sweet glaze to it - but the bread itself is not overly sugary (it's just right). There is the tang of molasses in the flavor (which I like - I used dark molasses here). I also doubled the ginger. In mixing this, I got a very runny batter - which worried me. But the bread came out just right, in the recommended baking time. Yum ! (And yes, it makes the kitchen smell great.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I agree that this recipe could use a little more sweetness. I made it as stated, and it turned out quite yummy- nice texture and aroma. However, I think next time I'll add a bit more honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
We all loved this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I was pleasantly surprised that such a simple, healthy list of ingredients could yield such a delicious bread! Great for dipping in eggnog. It's certainly a new holiday favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
My family turned up their noses at messing with their favorite Gingerbread recipe to a whole wheat one. I made this one and the 3 of us cleaned it up in one setting! (I halved the recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I was disappointed with this recipe. It was not sweet and tasted more like actual bread than a dessert. Good texture, consistency, and spicy flavor, but not nearly sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States