Whole Wheat Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Wow! Fabulous light texture, intense molasses flavor, very moist and tender. Follow this recipe as written and you'll be very happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This was delicious! I was afraid it would taste too "whole wheat-y," but it was yummy, moist and rich. I only used 3/4 molasses because that's all I had on hand. I also used 1/2 c oil and the full amount of honey (3/4). Thanks, Pat, for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Delicious--what a great way to get another serving of whole grain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I thought this was a good recipe. I was surprised that the batter was so thin but it baked up beautifully and light. I used Spelt flour and got a good result. I like the fact that it is not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I'm delighted with this recipe ! Perhaps it is the whole wheat flour that makes this gingerbread almost chewy. The crust has a nice, sweet glaze to it - but the bread itself is not overly sugary (it's just right). There is the tang of molasses in the flavor (which I like - I used dark molasses here). I also doubled the ginger. In mixing this, I got a very runny batter - which worried me. But the bread came out just right, in the recommended baking time. Yum ! (And yes, it makes the kitchen smell great.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I agree that this recipe could use a little more sweetness. I made it as stated, and it turned out quite yummy- nice texture and aroma. However, I think next time I'll add a bit more honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
We all loved this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I was pleasantly surprised that such a simple, healthy list of ingredients could yield such a delicious bread! Great for dipping in eggnog. It's certainly a new holiday favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
My family turned up their noses at messing with their favorite Gingerbread recipe to a whole wheat one. I made this one and the 3 of us cleaned it up in one setting! (I halved the recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I was disappointed with this recipe. It was not sweet and tasted more like actual bread than a dessert. Good texture, consistency, and spicy flavor, but not nearly sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States