Whole Wheat Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe! No one could tell that it was mad ewith wheat flour. I made a few alterations: I used 1/2 cup of honey, 1/2 cup of splenda, and 1/2 cup of brown sugar for the white sugar in this recipe and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
I agree with previous reviewer - spicy and chewy! There is no snap in them but I prefer these over any store bought ones I've ever had. Baked them and brought a plate out for card game with friends and there are none left. They are delicious and easy to make! I had looked for this recipe because husband had brought home whole wheat flour instead of reg flour (twice!) so I had to find a recipe that uses it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
I was a bit puzzled by these cookies. When I tasted them fresh from the oven, something about the taste seemed "off". But then the longer they sat out (I didn't even cover them, they were so moist) the better they tasted. My ultra-picky boyfriend tried one and said, "It's sandy inside," but my father LOVES them. They are very filling cookies and have a nice, complex flavor. The sugar on top of the cracked surface is very pretty. I like how they're thick and chewy, plus somewhat healthier with the whole wheat. The only modifications I made were adding one cup of brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar, plus a little less flour than called for. Check them early because my first batch burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
FANTASTIC. Many ginger snap recipes contain only ground ginger and cinnimon. The additon fo rthe nutmeg, allspice and cloves made all the difference if you're looking for a spicy cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IDENTITY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
These were WONDERFUL! Since I'm switching to whole wheat recipes, I've had to get rid of most so many white flour recipes! But I'm SO happy to not have to give up gingersnaps, which I LOVE! I used 1/2 cup butter & 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce instead of 1 cup butter. I switched around the ginger & cinnamon amounts because I love cinnamon! Baking time was 8 min. I might chill the dough before baking as the dough was kind of hard to roll into balls. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
These were okay. I had some wheat flour I wanted to use, and thought I'd give these a try. I needed to add another 1/4 or 1/3 cup of flour, and I advise you refrigerate the dough for an hour or two to make it easier to work with. I also set the oven to 325 and I was glad I did because they would have burned at 350. The cookies flattened out a lot more than I wanted them to... Thanks for the recipe, but I'll stick with the Mom's Ginger Snaps recipe off this site. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
These cookies are excellent. I like soft ginger snaps, and these fit the bill. The mix of spices is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Excellent and thanks for sharing. The cookies are moist and delicious, sometimes I add soft candied Ginger for an extra kick. Every time I make this, usually at Christmas for my husband, I buy a new bottle of ground ginger. This guarantees great gingery cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This is a great recipe, I love this cookies, I make the recipe to 30 servings and change 1/2 cup molasses and 3/4 cup white sugar by 26 packets of Splenda and use margarine light. This recipe is great to diabetes people and syndrom X.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Positively wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States