Whole Wheat Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
THESE ARE SOOOOOOO GOOD! I made the following changes: subbed half of the butter for unsweetened applesauce and cut the sugar by 1/4 cup. I used a melon baller, so my cookies were smaller than normal, but a great size for an after dinner cookie or small snack. I dipped some of the cookies in sugar for decoration to see the difference. While they do look prettier (think fairy princess), it's an unnecessary step. To get the cookie crisper, you can also mash them with a spoon a little. Mine didn't change shape from the time I put them in the oven. Thanks for this amazing, non-guilty pleasure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatsREALfood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogersville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These tasted amazing, and were very easy to make either crispy or chewy. I made them without the ground cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
YUM YUM YUM: my first completely whole-wheat cookie and they were gone within an hour of coming out of the oven! Added more ginger and cinnamon than the recipe called for which worked out wonderfullly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Delicious! Subbed 1 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar for the 1 1/2 cups of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I used Blackstrap molasses, that might have been a bitter mistake but followed the rest of the recipe to a T. Chill dough in fridge in between batches, makes it easier to roll in your palm. My slightly chewy cookies were about the size of a truffle prior to cooking 11 minutes @ 350 degrees. Also rolled entire cookie in pure cane sugar rather than just the top as the recipe suggests. My toddler LOVES them - and I love being able to give him homemade cookies made from whole wheat flour! Will try next time with a different kind of molasses or perhaps maple syrup as the recipe "owner" suggests in her updated review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Excellent! These will be a staple in my Christmas cookbook. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I do not like molasses and gingersnaps are not a favored cookie in my home. I made these for an exchange and had to sample before they were deemed good enough to share. These are AMAZING. The whole wheat mellows the "snap" of the molasses with out losing any of the flavor. I will not only be making these again, but will be making a batch for my family to keep this afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
These were fantastic, so easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly and they were a great hit at the cookie exchange. My husband and son loved them, nice and spicy and smell great while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Margaret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle River, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tecumseh, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
These are great! The whole wheat taste in these cookies is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Yummy! I did follow some substitution suggestions. For example the butter and applesauce. I do agree that it is hard to make into balls....so i chilled the dough :) Wonderful for the holidays, both the taste and the aroma of them baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States