Whole Wheat Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Never made these before - will definitely make the Christmas cookie list this year:) Tried them out, as a friend requested SOFT ginger snaps as a birthday gift. (I always make people their fave cookie for their birthday.) The dough was a royal pain in the neck, though. Followed the recipe to a T up until I started working with the dough. Ended up adding another 1/4 cup of flour. Wish I'd known I needed to chill the dough first because I really didn't have time for that. However, they're a hit at home, and with my birthday friend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Dundas, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Great recipe, however I thought 1 T baking soda seemed odd, so I used 1 t. Also used raw sugar, which doesn't always work in some cookie recipes, but terrific in and on these. I love the way the larger grains look and taste on the finished product as well. Thanks! It's a keeper:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Romig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
These were delicious! I made them exactly as the recipe called for. I baked the first batch at 12 minutes---too long. I made the second batch at 10 minutes and they were prefectly soft and chewy. My coworkers loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Very tasty! I did substitute applesauce for half of the butter and my batter was rather sticky even after refrigerating, but these cookies turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
These are VERY GOOD. A perfect ginger snap cookie, better than the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
They're not bad. I used maple syrup and added more cinnamon, which was fine, but they still tasted a little wheaty to me and were more thick, than chewy. I really wanted a nice chewiness to it, but didn't get that. Maybe it needs more butter or something?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I needed to make a few adjustments because of a shortage of ingredients. I halved the recipe, but didn't have enough molasses by about a 1/6 of a cup and used sorgham molasses instead (found only in the South. It's not quite as sweet) and next time I might add more spiceage. Same amount of ginger and nutmeg, but a little more clove and cinnamon. My cookies felt like they had wheat bran in them due to the course cut of my whole wheat which while exceptional in bread, made for a cookie with a bran-y texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
These are amazing! I made them from my roommates right before I flew out for Christmas, but now I'm making them again for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
A new family favorite! My 6 year old has asked me to make them twice since the first time. Perfect recipe just as is, and less guilt with the whole wheat. I have also tried the maple syrup substitution, which gave them a slightly milder flavor, but still wonderful cookies. Thanks, Mrs. Daycare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Pudong, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I did not use cloves, these are the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States