Whole Wheat Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
These are really good. You can't tell they are healthy. However, I do mix a splash of water with some confectioners sugar and ice the tops. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
These are delicious!! I'm trying to bake more with whole wheat flour (I don't even have white flour in the house) so it was a wonderful surprise to see these. I altered it just a little, instead of 1 cup of butter I used 1/2 cup smart balance and 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce, I didn't use the full cup of molasses either just because I didn't have enough, and I didn't add cloves because it's not something I have in the house but they still turned out great. I flattened them on the cookie sheet to make them thin and cooked them a little longer because I like my ginger snaps crispy. These are great with a big glass of milk!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Fantastic! I didn't have allspice so I bumped up the ginger and nutmeg. I also mixed some sprinkles in with the sugar for the topping and they looked very festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I made this recipe without any changes to the ingredients or measurements, except that I opted for unsalted butter and I ground up allspice, clove, and nutmeg in a coffee grinder, which I think provides a little stronger flavor than pre-ground. It was easier to roll them in sugar than just dip the tops. I also baked them on parchment paper so they are easier to lift off the pan. Warm, they were a little chewy in the center and had a nice crunch around the edges. I stored them right away in a tupperware, so hopefully they will retain a little bit of that chewiness when they fully cool off. I love that this recipe uses whole wheat flour, and I am keeping these in the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
GREAT!!!!! I got my son and his girlfriend a gingerbread cookie jar and I will put these in it ....they love gingerbread and I know they will love this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dede Mac
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
These were so good, I ate the cookie dough. I never eat the cookie dough! I didn't change a thing, and I did use the heaping spoonfuls of spice. They turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I made these for a book club cookie exchange, we ended up getting completely drunk on wine and digging into the boxes of cookies. Everyone went crazy for these and we ate ALL of them in about an hour. I have been searching and SEARCHING for a whole wheat flour ginger cookie that tastes as delicious as its regular flour counterparts. THIS IS THE ONE! MY GOD! Cooking them for exactly 10 minutes made the perfect cookie. I shorted the flour a tiny bit and didn't add as much molasses, simply because I didn't have what I needed. I replaced it with maple syrup and it worked brilliantly. This batch made me over 75 cookies. PERFECT recipe for a cookie exchange/ christmas time gifts. CAUTION: If you get drunk you will eat all of these cookies. Sidebar: they're just as delicious sober.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CourtneyRaedio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
So good, and as my 7 year old said...and so easy to make! excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
These are great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and they were GREAT! Just what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vparize
Home Town: Monrovia, California, USA
Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States