Whole Wheat Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I just baked these cookies. They are very good, however, I replaced 1 Cup of sugar with Splenda to reduce the sugar content. I knew that the soda and powder amts were too much, so I reduced the soda to 2 tsp. and deleted the powder, then added 4 tsp. vital wheat gluten (1 tsp. per cup of ww flour). The cookies rose just fine and taste wonderful. My diabetic husband loves these now that he has sweets he can eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This is the absolute best ginger snap recipe I have ever used. I bake cakes and cookies for a living and almost every cookie order I get includes these cookies. People are constantly raving about them. The only changes I have made to this recipe is to up the cinnamon to 1 Tablespoon and add a dash of freshly ground pepper. These cookies taste best the next day when the flavours have had a chance to mingle and will stay fresh for a very long time if kept in a sealed container. Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Fantastic! These were some of the all-time best cookies we've ever made. We bake ours for only 9-10 minutes, so they stay soft. But they don't stay long! Each batch is gobbled up quickly. Try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I used this recipe as a base for a mock ginger snap. To make them super healthy without losing the flavor I made the following changes: coconut oil for butter, two very ripe bananas & 1/4 cup of turbinado sugar for the white sugar and 1/2 wheat & 1/2 oat flour. They were devine! Although this rating isn't exactly for the listed recipe it helped a great deal with making healthy, flavorful cookies. I intend to make the actual recipe for guest but as for me, myself & I, its a must I cut the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNicker28

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Made these to the recipe, baking for the shortest time in order to have softer cookies. These are SO crisp! I can't imagine what they'd be if we'd left them in a few more minutes. The taste is fine, but will not make these again, as we prefer a chewier cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Blandon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
These are very good! I didn't have molasses, so I substituted maple syrup as suggested by the contributor of this recipe. I also substituted brown sugar for the white sugar in the recipe to make sure it had a good "molasses" flavor. I dipped them in holiday green and red sugar to be more festive! Very soft, very good! Would definitely make them again : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Everyone who tried these loved them! I usually press the balls down with a fork, but these cookies are so soft that they flatten out if you do this! Just place the ball on the sheet and toss in the oven - they come out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
We made these exactly as written, except we chilled the dough for a couple hours (I didn't have time to cook them right then and this actually made it really easy to roll them into balls), and then rolled each individual ball entirely in sugar. I must admit, we were a little nervous after tasting the dough, it was pretty darn spicy. But we figured we might as well bake them anyway. They were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
The flavor was great, but the cookies were on the softer, chewier side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keaau, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
To cut the fat and sugar content, I substituted 1/2 cup butter for unsweetened applesauce and 3/4 cup sugar for 1 tablespoon + 1/4 teaspoon of stevia (in packets). Also, they do not need to be dipped in sugar before baking. They are delicious! Thank-you Mrs. Daycare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States