Whole Wheat Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
These are the best cookies in the world. I now know why there is such great reviews! I wanted to make something healthy this year and so i decides to make these. I gave them to my neighbors and they loved them! I will make these every year for christmas! I LOVE THESE COOKIES!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I never, ever write reviews, but I had to for these. These are DELICIOUS! I'm not a huge spiced cookie fan, but I do try to bake with whole wheat as much as possible. You would never, ever guess these cookies are whole wheat. I can't eat too many (a good thing, probably) because of the heavy spices, but they are really great cookies that I'll be making for every holiday! And I didn't change a single thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Everyone really liked these cookies, and they felt better about them since the recipe used wheat flour. Definitely chill the dough to make for easier rolling! Also I only used half the butter and made up the difference with cinnamon apple sauce. Very tasty and better the next day. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DORITAC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Just made this today and they are great. The dough is very soft and sticky so put it in the fridge for a half hour and could have left it longer to make it easier to make the balls. They spread out on the pan so make sure you have lots of space between each one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerland, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ponoka, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Delicious! Exactly what I was hoping for! The ONLY thing that might make it better is if the cookies were thinner -- it was slightly thick for a hard cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ande2994

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Just made these. Hard to say what I think about them. The taste was perfect - nice and spicy. The texture, not bad. The edges were hard after cooking and cooling but the rest was chewy. They were completely flat once cooked, but that could be from over mixing the batter. Any time I hear about flat cookies, I've always been told it's from over mixing. Cooked them on the top wrack at 300 for 12 minutes. The batter was quite sticky, too sticky to roll. So I tried 2 things: wetting my hands as little as possible so the dough wouldn't stick to me and putting the batter in the fridge in between batches to firm it up. Both weren't great. The only other thing I would do next time is to add a little more flour. When I went to roll the balls with wet hands, the ball was coated in water (of course), and therefore the sugar on the top dissolved almost completely before it was even in the oven. I think if I make this again I will BOTH put the batter in the fridge for a while to firm it up and add more flour so that the batter is more crumbly. I'm giving it 4 stars and not less based on my reviews because the end result could've been my fault, not the recipe's. Overall, worth another shot with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
These cookies are unbelievable! No one would ever guess they are made with whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Tresham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I'm always looking for ways to use our fresh ground wheat flour. We love gingersnaps so I thought I'd try these. They are a strongly flavored cookie (especially when you use high quality spices as I do) which I love. These have a lot more molasses than most ginger snap recipes. The only problem I had with these is that the dough was very soft and they flattened out more than I like. I tried chilling the dough but that didn't help them stay thicker, though it was easier to roll them into balls. I think I'll try tinkering with my old ginger snap recipe but add this combination of spices because I really liked that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Excellent cookies! I dropped the unbaked cookie balls into turbinado sugar before placing them into the oven. The cookies baked up beautifully, all chewy and spicy. These are the best molasses, spice cookies that I have ever made. A total winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queennana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Delicious! I appreciated the comment about substituting maple syrup for the molasses. I was 1/4 cup short of molasses and the maple syrup worked perfectly. Taking them to a picnic with homemade ice cream. Should be a good combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States