Whole Wheat Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I do not like molasses and gingersnaps are not a favored cookie in my home. I made these for an exchange and had to sample before they were deemed good enough to share. These are AMAZING. The whole wheat mellows the "snap" of the molasses with out losing any of the flavor. I will not only be making these again, but will be making a batch for my family to keep this afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
These were fantastic, so easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly and they were a great hit at the cookie exchange. My husband and son loved them, nice and spicy and smell great while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Margaret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle River, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tecumseh, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
These are great! The whole wheat taste in these cookies is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Yummy! I did follow some substitution suggestions. For example the butter and applesauce. I do agree that it is hard to make into balls....so i chilled the dough :) Wonderful for the holidays, both the taste and the aroma of them baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I really enjoyed this cookie. I found like another reviewer a "sandy" taste when fresh from the oven but disappeared once cooled. I think this is the whole wheat flour. I have had better molasses cookies but I liked that this one was with whole wheat flour. there was something I can't quite put my finger on - they were almost too sweet, with a very strong molasses taste. Could have been the molasses I used too (dark). Overall a very good cookie, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Best ginger snaps ever! My husband is a 'cookie monster' and he rated these as keepers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
terrible...these cookies were way too sweet and the spice was OVERPOWERING...extremely spicy ginger snaps. I am not sure why they have receive such great reviews. I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
These are delicious and easy to make. Mine ended up chewy but next time I will make the balls smaller and bake longer. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I liked these and my husband raved. I made them for him especially,since he is a fan of ginger snaps. I did increase all the spices by a half teaspoon. I made homemade masala chai and we dunked them. Now that was quite the flavor combo! Love that they are made healthier with whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Flovilla, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
These are a really good Chewy Ginger Snap, unless you forget them and bake too long, then they are a very good crunchy Ginger Snap! My only problem was that they didn't turn out as pretty as the picture! Mine were very flat! This recipe is a keeper! Thanks MRSDAYCARE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrishMtCIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States