Whole Wheat Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Nice flavor, but the batter was too moist. The dough was too wet and sticky to roll into balls, so I scooped it out with a small scooper. The cookies spread out thinly. I added more flour to the remaining batter, and that helped a little. I suggest adding an extra cup of whole wheat flour to the ingredient list. Also, I sometimes use a course-ground whole wheat flour that might have worked better. I'll try it one more time with the courser flour before I delete it from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Mixed feelings! I made the recipe exactly as given, but am not sure if I used the correct molasses. I went to the store especially to get some, and there were two to choose from. The Black Strap Molasses had a label which stated it was for use also in ginger biscuits, etc., and that is what I thought was right then. However, I really did not like the bitter aftertaste that it left in my mouth, and my husband had the same comment. The spice was overpowering the ginger for me, but I loved the old fashioned look with the cracking on the top. This worried me all night, and because I ran out of eggs, I was at the local garage at 06:00 this morning so that I could try it again, this time with variations. I then used half flour and half wholewheat flour, cut down considerably on the spices, but not the ginger. I left out the molasses totally and used a bit of maple syrup that I had leftover with syrup. This morning's batch came out more to our taste. I plan to try it once more, with even more ginger, and perhaps less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I just baked these cookies. They are very good, however, I replaced 1 Cup of sugar with Splenda to reduce the sugar content. I knew that the soda and powder amts were too much, so I reduced the soda to 2 tsp. and deleted the powder, then added 4 tsp. vital wheat gluten (1 tsp. per cup of ww flour). The cookies rose just fine and taste wonderful. My diabetic husband loves these now that he has sweets he can eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This is the absolute best ginger snap recipe I have ever used. I bake cakes and cookies for a living and almost every cookie order I get includes these cookies. People are constantly raving about them. The only changes I have made to this recipe is to up the cinnamon to 1 Tablespoon and add a dash of freshly ground pepper. These cookies taste best the next day when the flavours have had a chance to mingle and will stay fresh for a very long time if kept in a sealed container. Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Fantastic! These were some of the all-time best cookies we've ever made. We bake ours for only 9-10 minutes, so they stay soft. But they don't stay long! Each batch is gobbled up quickly. Try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I used this recipe as a base for a mock ginger snap. To make them super healthy without losing the flavor I made the following changes: coconut oil for butter, two very ripe bananas & 1/4 cup of turbinado sugar for the white sugar and 1/2 wheat & 1/2 oat flour. They were devine! Although this rating isn't exactly for the listed recipe it helped a great deal with making healthy, flavorful cookies. I intend to make the actual recipe for guest but as for me, myself & I, its a must I cut the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNicker28

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Made these to the recipe, baking for the shortest time in order to have softer cookies. These are SO crisp! I can't imagine what they'd be if we'd left them in a few more minutes. The taste is fine, but will not make these again, as we prefer a chewier cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Blandon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
These are very good! I didn't have molasses, so I substituted maple syrup as suggested by the contributor of this recipe. I also substituted brown sugar for the white sugar in the recipe to make sure it had a good "molasses" flavor. I dipped them in holiday green and red sugar to be more festive! Very soft, very good! Would definitely make them again : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Everyone who tried these loved them! I usually press the balls down with a fork, but these cookies are so soft that they flatten out if you do this! Just place the ball on the sheet and toss in the oven - they come out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
We made these exactly as written, except we chilled the dough for a couple hours (I didn't have time to cook them right then and this actually made it really easy to roll them into balls), and then rolled each individual ball entirely in sugar. I must admit, we were a little nervous after tasting the dough, it was pretty darn spicy. But we figured we might as well bake them anyway. They were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States