Whole Wheat Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Made these to the recipe, baking for the shortest time in order to have softer cookies. These are SO crisp! I can't imagine what they'd be if we'd left them in a few more minutes. The taste is fine, but will not make these again, as we prefer a chewier cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Blandon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
These are very good! I didn't have molasses, so I substituted maple syrup as suggested by the contributor of this recipe. I also substituted brown sugar for the white sugar in the recipe to make sure it had a good "molasses" flavor. I dipped them in holiday green and red sugar to be more festive! Very soft, very good! Would definitely make them again : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Everyone who tried these loved them! I usually press the balls down with a fork, but these cookies are so soft that they flatten out if you do this! Just place the ball on the sheet and toss in the oven - they come out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
We made these exactly as written, except we chilled the dough for a couple hours (I didn't have time to cook them right then and this actually made it really easy to roll them into balls), and then rolled each individual ball entirely in sugar. I must admit, we were a little nervous after tasting the dough, it was pretty darn spicy. But we figured we might as well bake them anyway. They were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
The flavor was great, but the cookies were on the softer, chewier side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keaau, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
To cut the fat and sugar content, I substituted 1/2 cup butter for unsweetened applesauce and 3/4 cup sugar for 1 tablespoon + 1/4 teaspoon of stevia (in packets). Also, they do not need to be dipped in sugar before baking. They are delicious! Thank-you Mrs. Daycare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, except that I did 1/2 cup brown and 1 cup white sugar (instead of all white), and I rolled the balls in sugar instead of dipping them. They were perfect after only 8 minutes (as soon as the tops were cracked). My kids are picky about cookies, but they all loved these, as did I! Definitely going in my regular cookie rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I like them crispy, but you can adjust the time to make them soft/chewy or crispy. Crispy was def. 15 minutes. My cookies didn't crack on the top. Which doesn't matter at all to me as far as the recipe goes. I did not think the spices were overpowering at all. The dough was a little sticky so I had to dip my fingers in the WW Flour to make roll into ball better. The use of WW Flour does not change the taste but a slight change in texture, even visual texture, but that is expected. I will reduce sugar the next time just because I want to try it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Home run!!! Definitely heap the spices for that gingery flavor. I took cookies out of the oven about 5 minutes before they were done and sprinkled additional sugar on tops, then baked them the remaining time. People seemed to like these extra sugary cookies better than the ones without additional sugar on top. These cookies get even better after a few days! Everyone is asking for the recipe and this is now a staple in our home. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Not impressed at all. Clove flavour was too overpowering & these cookies had an odd, gritty texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States