Whole Wheat Drop Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Loved 'em! I used all whole-wheat flour, and I added a dollop of honey ... the dough was sticky, but I patted it out and cut the biscuits, anyway ... I'm just not crazy about "drop" anything ... just used enough flour on the counter and dough to get the job done ... they baked up fluffy and golden ... I didn't think they were dense at all ... they warmed up well, too ... I had them for a few breakfasts! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Good and VERY easy. I served them with gravy. Without any toppings, I thought the flavor was a tiny bit lacking. If it weren't for the flavor I would have given them 5 stars. The texture was very moist a little dense but that is typical of whole wheat and one of the reasons why I prefer it. I did add a bit more milk (I used cow's milk). I also only got 9 large biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
These were wonderful. I'd been addicted to making regular biscuits (J.P.'s from this site) and managed to severely deplete my all purpose flour supply. I used a cup of each, and used olive instead of canola oil. I also added 1 tsp. of white sugar. They were a little crumbly, but no more than your average drop biscuit. My son LOVED them, and they were great with the chicken and rice soup I made. Oh. I used regular 1% milk too. I'm not vegan, so soy milk just isn't in the pantry! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in OK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Whitney
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Pretty good and much healthier than prepackaged biscuits. Since I don't keep soy milk on hand, I used skim milk instead of soy. Since I didn't have all purpose flour (ran out), I used all whole wheat. I also added garlic, oregano, Italian seasoning, a bit of sugar and some cinnamon. I will make this again but would probably cut down on the oil by increasing the milk or adding water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I am trying to prepare more healthy options so I used only the wheat flour and made a triple batch - using olive oil and skim milk. The amount of milk the conversion gave, as well as the baking powder, wasn't quite enough. I liked it and the kids seemed to as well, tho my husband requested the 1/2 white flour next time. This is the first whole wheat recipe I enjoyed. Please note, my biscuits didn't rise with just whole wheat flour but they were still a nice consistancy. Looked like rocks but not hard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Really impressed, we had everything but the whole wheat. Not a fan of shortening, made them within 10 minutes of reading the recipe, added honey instead of sugar and a little extra soy. Made huge biscuits, cooked evenly and fluffy and tasted great! Ate them with sausage and gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
This was really good! I added a tablespoon of sugar and a touch more milk. just tastey!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
These were excellent! I used what I had on hand - pastry flour instead of all-purpose flour and skim milk instead of soy milk - but even with substitutions these had a tender crumb and were light and airy. I added some garlic powder and basil along with the flour; very savory and delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sicily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
These are so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I didn't care for these. All I could taste was baking powder. Although they were easy, I won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States