Whole Wheat Drop Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Good and VERY easy. I served them with gravy. Without any toppings, I thought the flavor was a tiny bit lacking. If it weren't for the flavor I would have given them 5 stars. The texture was very moist a little dense but that is typical of whole wheat and one of the reasons why I prefer it. I did add a bit more milk (I used cow's milk). I also only got 9 large biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
This was really good! I added a tablespoon of sugar and a touch more milk. just tastey!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
dry and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by outnumbered
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I loved these biscuits! I only used whole wheat flour, which made them a little denser, so I increased the baking time slightly. They went great with soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fruit Heights, Utah, USA
Living In: Cheney, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
These were wonderful. I'd been addicted to making regular biscuits (J.P.'s from this site) and managed to severely deplete my all purpose flour supply. I used a cup of each, and used olive instead of canola oil. I also added 1 tsp. of white sugar. They were a little crumbly, but no more than your average drop biscuit. My son LOVED them, and they were great with the chicken and rice soup I made. Oh. I used regular 1% milk too. I'm not vegan, so soy milk just isn't in the pantry! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in OK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Very tasty! I used olive oil and added a teaspoon of sugar. These were great with vegan chili. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I am trying to prepare more healthy options so I used only the wheat flour and made a triple batch - using olive oil and skim milk. The amount of milk the conversion gave, as well as the baking powder, wasn't quite enough. I liked it and the kids seemed to as well, tho my husband requested the 1/2 white flour next time. This is the first whole wheat recipe I enjoyed. Please note, my biscuits didn't rise with just whole wheat flour but they were still a nice consistancy. Looked like rocks but not hard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
These turned out yummy! I substituted an Oat Bran Blend (Hodgeson Mills) flour for the Whole wheat flour, made them more golden and a little sweeter. They don't puff up alot, but they are not heavy either. My kids and I ate them with strawberry jam for an afternoon snack -- they just disappeared. I dropped them by heaping tablespoon onto the cookie sheet and ended up with 12, not 16. My kids have asked me to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Really impressed, we had everything but the whole wheat. Not a fan of shortening, made them within 10 minutes of reading the recipe, added honey instead of sugar and a little extra soy. Made huge biscuits, cooked evenly and fluffy and tasted great! Ate them with sausage and gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This is a great recipe. It is so easy, which is great because my three year old loves to help in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States