Whole Wheat Drop Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Easy, peasy and so light and fluffy. I substituted skim milk for the soy (allergic to soy) and they turned out really well. We had these with my "clean the fridge out" soup and they were perfect. I also using the last of my on-hand whole wheat flour - now it looks like I'll have to buy more. Hub and I couldn't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
So I'm doing that thing where I review a recipe with some changes. Sorry, but I wanted to tailor it to my meal and our diet. I made the following changes: 2 cups whole wheat flour, 1/3 cup total of equal parts natural applesauce and oil, and 1 cup skim milk (replacing, respectively, the flours, oil, and soy milk). I also added 1 finely chopped sweet onion. They were excellent- moist and flavorful, insanely fast and easy, and made great snacks for a few days. A definite make-again, and you could easily mix in some chopped dried fruit and cinnamon to turn this into a breakfast biscuit. SO happy to bring this into the mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I used this recipe for turkey dumpling soup. I didn't have any all purpose flour, so I used all wheat, but I added a couple tablespoons of vital wheat gluten to compensate. I made the dough and dropped it (in medium balls) on top of the soup, and they cooked beautifully. My husband isn't a fan of strong wheat flavor, but these were great and he loved them. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
So easy and delicious. In the batch I just made, I used 1c whole wheat flour and 1c garbanzo-fava flour (gluten-free), adding some ground flax seed to 'bind' the gluten-free flour. Also, I used 2 tbsp coconut oil and 2 tbsp vegetable oil instead of all canola oil, and vanilla almondmilk instead of soy milk, to produce a sweeter biscuit without added honey or agave nectar as I normally would. The lighter-density gluten-free flour produced a fluffier, less rock-like biscuit, and the added sweeter ingredients were a perfect touch to mask the bean flour taste. This fluffy, sweet batch was perfect with homemade peach-blackberry jam. My co-workers agree, even the ones who are not very health-conscious thought it was great. Thank you for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I'll be honest, I had my doubts about this recipe. I tried it out since I have both dairy and egg allergic kids. I used olive oil instead of canola and I used coconut milk instead of soy. They were actually pretty good - easy too! Even my picky 2 year old who doesn't like anything liked it! I served it with soup, they were enjoyed by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
These are soooooo good!!! I enjoy them most with raspberry jam or honey. Also, sometimes we add a few spoonfuls of orange juice concentrate, yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklinton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
A healthier alternative to other biscuit recipes. The flavor will vary with your choices of ingredients. If using a soy milk that has been sweetened, the biscuit makes a good replacement for a shortcake and is delicious topped with sliced strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Great basic recipe! I used vanilla soymilk, and I added about a teaspoon or two of honey, and that gave it a very nice sweetness. I might cut down on the salt a little bit next time, it tasted like a tad too much, but still good. Instead of dropping spoonfuls, I just shaped into 8 biscuits and used them for mini-sandwiches (tuna salad), which worked nicely as a quick meal. To the person that said it tasted like baking powder - you probably didn't cook it right...I'm not sure why that would happen....it's the correct amount for a typical biscuit recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
They're OK. I used all whole wheat flour and almond milk. They taste like maybe they need a little less salt or baking powder. But I'll try them again with a little honey in the dough since they were so easy and goes well with soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Great recipe- if you are worried about these being bland, just add 1 Tbsp of sugar. I thought the texture was great with soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States