Whole-Wheat Dark Chocolate Zucchini Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I just made these yesterday and I really like them! The only thing I changed was to use one whole egg instead of two egg whites. These brownies taste like a cross between zucchini bread and fudgy chocolate cake. You can taste the zucchini just a little, but I love zucchini bread, so that was not a problem for me. I had no problem using only whole wheat flour, either. They are so rich, chocolatey, and moist that I kept going back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajo263

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
These are the easiest and best tasting brownies I have ever made! Has anyone tried to freeze them? I think i have found what people are getting for holiday presents!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I used one pack of apple sauce and some coconut oil. Very moist. one half sugar. w.w. flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
These brownies are fabulous. My new favorite!! Don't panic when the batter turns very, very stiff after you add the flour. It will loosen up dramatically when you add the zucchini. Unfortunately, I did not have a 9x9 pan, so I used an 8X8. Next time I'll use my 8x8 but increase baking time by about 5 mins to make the brownies a little firmer. But this is a keeper -- serious dark chocolate moist brownie goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I used whole wheat pastry flour, which may be the same as the white whole wheat flour that is called for in the recipe, and they turned out great. The 30 minute baking time was too short for me; it took a little over 40 minutes. They did 'fall' a little in the center of the pan as they cooled but were both moist and light, an unusual combination for a brownie, in my experience. My wife has a favorite zucchini cake recipe that she has used for years, and she declared that these brownies tasted better. I placed walnuts on top before baking them, and they truly were very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Very moist and delicious. Used applesauce instead of oil. Will be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Made this today and despite my modifications they turned out moist and delicious. I will definitely make them again. Here's what I changed: 1. Used 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup all-purpose flour (didn't have white whole-wheat). 2. Used 1 tablespoon flaxmeal with 3 tablespoons boiling water in place of egg whites (due to someone with egg allergy at my house). 3. Also used 1 tablespoon egg replacer mixed with 1 1/2 teaspoons warm water (again, due to egg allergy). 4. Didn't have enough chocolate chips (crazy, right!?) and had to use 4 ounces melted semi-sweet baking chocolate in place of 1/2 cup melted chocolate chips. In spite of all of my tinkering they were a big hit and are a nice way to get zucchini into my preschooler and my husband without complaints. Husband and son both loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
These brownies are amazing!!! I've made them twice, and the second time around I forgot the cocoa powder, but having substituted half the zucchini for pears, they were still awesome! My advice: the darker the chocolate the better. I also only use about a total of 3/4 cup of sugar. Serve with raspberry coulis...to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fleur de lys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
These are delicious treat that your kiddos will love! (And you won't feel bad letting them eat them!) After making them the 1st time, I did make a couple modifications. I pureed my zucchini, to keep it well hidden. This loosened up the batter some. I also baked them in a 9x13 pan and they turned out PERFECT! My girls are begging for me to make more! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I loved these, my daughter loved these, & my husband who will not eat zucchini loved these. (They still don't know they were eating zucchini)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret squash surprise.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States