Whole Wheat Cut Out Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Well, I can honestly say that I've been making cut out cookies since I was 10 and have never had such trouble! I was able to salvage these, however.... For some reason my dough was WAY too soft and sticky. (other reviewers didn't seem to have this problem?) The only cause I can think of is that my honey was raw and somewhat granular -though this has never posed a problem in baking before. I ended having to add over 2 cups of flour (yikes!) just to be able to roll it out. This of course diminished the taste considerably (I'm assuming), so I compensated by sprinkling with cinnamon. They turned out pretty good! My 2 year old definitely had no problem eating them. :) I would advise adding the honey a little at a time to see how much you need to reach the desired consistency. I will try this next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Definitely add the extra cup of flour. Also added 1/3 c. more brown sugar, + 1tsp vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Mateja

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
The dough is very very manageable, there's no need to flour the counter top to roll. I would add next time more honey or a 1/3C of brown sugar. I made small cookies flower with guava mermelade of these for my niece...the were sort of tasteless. With the remaining dough i made cinnamon crackers, I topped it before baking with brown sugar and a lot of cinnamon: DELIGHTFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gavi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I ended up having to add an extra cup of flour because the dough was just too sticky. I also added a bit of salt because I enjoy the taste salt adds to a cookie. Taste was wonderful and wholesome. The toddlers I made them for gobbled them up! Next time I may try substituting applesause for part of the butter to make them even healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
YUMMY! I added a tsp of lemon zest to the dough and had to use 1 cup of Agave nectar as I was out of honey; consequently, I added about 1/4 cup extra flour while blending dough to get perfect consistency - these were delicious - my husband enjoyed the hint of sweetness leaving them plain and my daughter and I topped some with a delicious lemon frosting and toasted coconuts & almonds. I baked these for 10 minutes and they came out perfect - soft, wholesome and super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Absolutely Delicious! I made these exactly as the recipe says. They are super easy and super good! Just the right amount of sweetness in my opinion. Easy to roll out, and easy to cut. Also good topped with Strawberry Preserves. My picky 2-year old loves them too. Thanks for a great healthy cookie recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Sharp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peotone, Illinois, USA
Living In: Manteno, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I know this is a "healthy" COOKIE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonagold

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jackson, Alabama, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I really like these cookies. I make a bunch of them and put them in the cookie jar to have on hand for tea guests. They are crunchy, but can be made a little thicker if you prefer a more chewy cookie. The taste of them is really great though and much better than any white flour cut out cookie in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
These were great! I pretty much followed the recipe, except using slightly less honey. They are super easy. I like that you can roll and bake them right away. A great whole wheat/honey with no refined sugars recipe. I used star and heart cookie cutters. I can definitely give these away, unlike a lot of whole wheat/honey "cakies."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Yum. It tastes really wholesome, and if you like the high-fiber taste, this is the cookie for you (don't add frosting). I reduced the honey to 3/4c. and think they taste great. You don't need to spread them apart so much on the cookie sheet, but they do puff up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States