Whole-Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This cookie recipe is fabulous! I substituted all whole wheat pastry flour and they still turned out delicious. You can't even tell they are whole wheat. This will definately become a staple in our house. Oh, and one way to keep them soft is to put an apple in the cookie jar with the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
These are yummy! I substituted unsalted butter for the margarine and agave nectar instead of white sugar. They are delectable!! I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
These were okay I guess. It seems I prefer the all purpose flour or it could have been the flour I used. I'm not really sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHELLENYR
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
We enjoyed these - found them a bit sweet - so next time I will use dark chocolate chips. I also added replace 25% of the whole wheat flour with with Hi-Maize 5-in-1-Fiber. Everyone raved about them, my child even took some to school for her classmates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
These were fabulous. I didn't use walnuts, baked bars for 12 minutes and used a mix of chocolate chunks, chocolate chips and peanut/chocolate swirl chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
These are great cookies. I used 1/2 c margarine ad 1/4 c applesauce... great taste and texture. Probably my new go-to choc chip cookie recipe because they are a tad healthier than white-flour only recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRVRBS31GAL
Living In: Gurnee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
The recipe was fabulous. I made some changes per other reviewers suggestions. I used 3/4 C brown sugar and 3/4 white sugar though next time I may reduce the amount of white sugar to 1/2 C because it was still rather sweet but to each his own. It called for 2 C of whole wheat pastry flour but I didn't have that type so I used Whole Foods whole wheat flour instead. I reduced the 1tsp of salt down to 1/2 teaspoon and used 1.5 cups of mixed chocolate chips and peanut butter chips rather than 2 C of semi-sweet choc. chips. The dough was rather dry and again, this is probably a result of me using regular whole wheat flour rather than the pastry flour as specified. So, I added about 1/4 of vegetable oil to moisten the dough though next time, I may add apple sauce as suggested by another reviewer. The dough was crumbly so I had to form it into a tight ball about 1inch in diameter. Baked for exactly 10 minutes. I was wary of the outcome but to my surprise, it was fantastic! So moist and chewy and the peanut butter brings out the flavor. You can't even tell this was made from wheat as I was nervous it would have that hearty taste to it but no one could tell and my roomies at them all! I'll update next time when I reduce sugar and add apple sauce! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I followed the instructions, with the exception of butter instead of margarine. inoffensive but fairly mundane and forgettable cookies. I think with the texture of the dough, toffee bits would really perk up the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Quite good and quick and easy to make. I added 4 Tbsp. of cocoa powder to make them double chocolate and it worked well, although I would add even more the next time. I actually got way more cookies than 36, I would estimate about 4.5 dozen. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
These were wonderful! I just apple sauce instead of the butter and i cut back on the sugar as well. I used egg substitute in place of one of the two eggs and used all whole wheat. I also omitted the walnuts due to personal taste. NOTE: they puff up alot so I flattened mine in to cookie like discs. They will still puff when cooked just not as high as the batch i did with out flattening; they are still fluffy. ALSO THESE FREEZE SO WELL! I make the individual discs and then froze them in between parchment paper in a large zip lock and just pull them out and bake them at the temp stated. YUM :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcn5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States