Whole-Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
These were very good. I didn't use quite as much sugar. Instead of margarine I used butter. The dough was very stiff- I figured the cookies would be hard as a rock but was pleasantly surprised they are nice and chewy in the middle. Has anyone tried adding peanut butter??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA83455

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Awesome. My husband is a self-proclaimed chocolate cookie expert and could not tell that these had whole wheat in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I've been making these for years now, as a cookie base for chocolate chips, M&Ms, monster cookies, etc. I always use 3c. whole wheat white instead of 2c. ww and one cup white, and I butter, not margarine. If the dough is a little goopy when I am putting the cookies on the sheet to bake, I add a little more WW flour to the mix. Sometimes, I leave out 1/2c flour and use All Bran. If I make M&M cookies, I use less sugar. Use a mini ice cream scoop to drop them and you will get a perfect cookie every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I used all whole wheat flour and added a bit of apple sauce because the dough seemed a bit dry. These were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
AWESOME COOKIES! I usually try to make things as healthy as possible, so I made these with Smart Balance Butter Blend (stick type spread)instead of butter, Splenda instead of white sugar, and organic brown sugar. I used only half the amount of chocolate chips called for, and the full amount of chopped walnuts. Next time I will cut back even more on the chocolate chips. The dough was so thick that I had difficulty stirring it with my wooden spoon. I was tempted to add another egg, but I'm glad I didn't as the cookies turned out so great. I flattened them just slightly before baking. They spread out to about double their size, so don't put them too close together. One other thing is that I noticed a big difference between my two insulated cookie sheets. One has a dark brown no-stick finish and the other has an aluminum colored finish. This probably doesn't have anything to do with the recipe, but the dark finish produced a MUCH nicer cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I hesitated to write a review after tasting these when they first came out of the oven because, honestly, they didn't live up to my expectations, and thought I would not be making these again. I am glad I hesitated. Upon trying these the next day, I deemed them "worthy". They are thick and chewy and rich, and better the next day! Kids devoured them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
We all really enjoyed these. I tweaked the recipe a bit: I only had regular whole wheat flour, so used that in place of the whole wheat pastry flour. Instead of 3/4 cup margarine, I used a 3/4 cup measurind cup and added half melted butter and half applesauce to make 3/4 cup. I added the two cups of chocolate chips, but next time will add a little less. And lastly, I baked as cookie bars in a jelly roll pan. 375 degrees sounded too high, so I baked at 325 degress for about 20 -25 minutes (don't overbrown!) Thanks for the recipe - I feel like it was a more wholesome treat for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This recipe is excellent!! I am admitably the worlds worst cookie baker, but this recipe turned out great, even for me! The only changes that I made was I substituted applesauce for the margarine, Splends for Baking for the Sugar and used ALL whole wheat flour. My family loved them! They were light and cakey! yummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This recipe worked great! The cookies came out beautifully! I made a few adjustments to help it become a healthier snack: I used apple sauce instead of the margarine. Also I used 1/4 cup sucanut instead of the white sugar and substituted pecans for the walnuts. I also added more vanilla and butter and coconut extract to help cover the wheat and sucanut flavor. The result was delicious and even with using dark chocolate chips, (60%) I will probably cup back more of the sugar next time. They're plenty sweet enough for my family and my tastes. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I've made these a couple times now and both times I did as others suggested and used all whole wheat flour...everybody LOVES them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CeliaBelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States