Whole-Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Great cookie! just the right balance between chewy and crispness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
These cookies are delicious! My three young sons RAVED about them and want to "trade them for all the candy in the world." I used two-thirds whole wheat (not pastry) flour and one-third all purpose white flour, and I didn't sift. I also traded 1/3 of the margarine for 0%-fat Greek yogurt and used Smart Balance for the rest. Mine cooked on a lower rack for about 11 minutes. We'll definitely be making these again, and again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Nice recipe. I ground soft winter white wheat berries almost to pastry flour and used that only for flour, used 1/2 c less sugar and used demera instead, added some ground flax, butter instead of margarine, and only used a pinch of salt. These were very nice - you can tell they are whole wheat but they are still nice and tender. I am sure part of that is due to the fresh ground flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This cookie recipe is fabulous! I substituted all whole wheat pastry flour and they still turned out delicious. You can't even tell they are whole wheat. This will definately become a staple in our house. Oh, and one way to keep them soft is to put an apple in the cookie jar with the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
These are yummy! I substituted unsalted butter for the margarine and agave nectar instead of white sugar. They are delectable!! I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
These were okay I guess. It seems I prefer the all purpose flour or it could have been the flour I used. I'm not really sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHELLENYR
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
We enjoyed these - found them a bit sweet - so next time I will use dark chocolate chips. I also added replace 25% of the whole wheat flour with with Hi-Maize 5-in-1-Fiber. Everyone raved about them, my child even took some to school for her classmates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
These were fabulous. I didn't use walnuts, baked bars for 12 minutes and used a mix of chocolate chunks, chocolate chips and peanut/chocolate swirl chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
These are great cookies. I used 1/2 c margarine ad 1/4 c applesauce... great taste and texture. Probably my new go-to choc chip cookie recipe because they are a tad healthier than white-flour only recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRVRBS31GAL
Living In: Gurnee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
The recipe was fabulous. I made some changes per other reviewers suggestions. I used 3/4 C brown sugar and 3/4 white sugar though next time I may reduce the amount of white sugar to 1/2 C because it was still rather sweet but to each his own. It called for 2 C of whole wheat pastry flour but I didn't have that type so I used Whole Foods whole wheat flour instead. I reduced the 1tsp of salt down to 1/2 teaspoon and used 1.5 cups of mixed chocolate chips and peanut butter chips rather than 2 C of semi-sweet choc. chips. The dough was rather dry and again, this is probably a result of me using regular whole wheat flour rather than the pastry flour as specified. So, I added about 1/4 of vegetable oil to moisten the dough though next time, I may add apple sauce as suggested by another reviewer. The dough was crumbly so I had to form it into a tight ball about 1inch in diameter. Baked for exactly 10 minutes. I was wary of the outcome but to my surprise, it was fantastic! So moist and chewy and the peanut butter brings out the flavor. You can't even tell this was made from wheat as I was nervous it would have that hearty taste to it but no one could tell and my roomies at them all! I'll update next time when I reduce sugar and add apple sauce! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States