Whole-Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
OMG, these cookies were amazing! Now, I did make a few changes - but stayed within the guidelines of this recipe. I used organic, local butter in lieu of margarine, all the other ingredients were organic as well. Although I used 1 cup of organic sugar, in place of the brown sugar I used Sucanet, and the chocolate chips I used were Sunspire Organic Grain Sweetened Dark Chocolate Chips which taste similar to semi-sweet chocolate chips, I also used all Whole Wheat Pastry Flour (no AP flour). The Sucanet created a very dark cookie - but they were so delicious! This is the first cookie I have ever made, that not only is decadently delicious, but I feel really good eating and serving. A+ recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwstdSistr72

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
YUM. Love these. I used 1/2 cup I Can't Believe It's Not Butter stick, and 1/4 cup real butter. Used about 3/4 cup of each sugar, and used about 1 1/2 cups milk chocolate chips. These came out the perfect shape and chewiness...they didn't flatten, thank goodness! The wheat flour adds great substance, and makes them feel healthier. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Excellent reviews from Molly (10), Kate (8), Amy (old-ish), and Loren (old). The whole wheat pastry flour adds a wonderful flavor and texture; perfect balance of crispy/chewey. I replaced the margarine with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by labecia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
So good!!! Had whole wheat pastry flour that i was trying to use in a cookie recipe and stumbled on this one- so happy with results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
The finished dough was really dry, so I had to add another: 4 tablespoons of butter, egg, 1/8 teaspoon salt, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla. I think I would experiment with adding some oatmeal next time as well. Anyway, they were excellent with the modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Wow, I am so impressed with this recipe! Not only were they to die for, they did not flatten out like other chocolate chip recipes. They were a little crisp (not too much) on the outside & nice and soft inside...perfect! The dough seems stiff, but not to worry, they'll turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I have tried many whole wheat cookie recipes and this seems to taste almost exactly like the white wheat cookies! YUM! I just used 1 cup of cane sugar instead of the brown and white sugar. 2 teaspoons of vanilla makes it even yummier :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
My husband has always been a "meh" chocolate chip cookie kind of guy. But these are so loved in the house that he goes out of his way to brag about them to his co-workers and friends. Of which now they all love them too. We use whole grain fresh ground flour instead of the pastry flour and just add a touch more white flour to balance the lightness of the fresh ground flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Very good! The wheat pastry flour gives them a unique flavor. I made some with and without the walnuts and some with both chocolate and peanut butter chips. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shyla
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Excellent! Minor changes: I used shortening instead of butter, replaced the 1 cup of sugar with 1 cup of Splenda, made sure the brown sugar was packed down (I think it can be assumed that's the thing to do w/brown sugar), decreased the all-purpose flour to 1/2 cup, and used regular 100% whole wheat flour instead of whole wheat "pastry" flour. I made sure both kinds of flour were sifted. I didn't grease the cookie sheet and found it wasn't necessary. I took them out at exactly 10 minutes, which is perfect in my oven, based on how I like them. I like to leave them slightly doughy on the inside, and allow that part of the cookie to firm up as it cools on wax paper. Makes for a soft cookie with a slightly crisp exterior that melts in your mouth... and barely needs milk! (But of course who would skip the milk?) I may just make them like this all or most of the time now, since they taste just as good and are that much healthier...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shyla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Onalaska, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States