Whole-Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
too much flour. and DONT use applesauce...makes it cake like and not in a good way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I followed the recipe almost exactly, and by golly they were delicious! I used butter, not margarine. I didn't have whole wheat PASTRY flour, but I had whole wheat flour and used it, and it was great. I also decreased the sugar to 3/4 cups each which was PLENTY. These would still be good even with less chocolate chips as well. They were very chocolaty, chewy, and decadent. YUM! **Beware of reviews saying to substitute with applesauce. I tried this and the cookies had a cakey texture. Every time I try to use applesauce in cookies, it's a disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I was craving chocolate chip cookies but I realized I only had whole wheat flour on hand. I found this recipe and gave it a try. I am very pleased! This recipe was very easy to make and the cookies turned out great. I would never know that it was whole wheat flour. The dough was a little more dry than I wanted, but I just added a smidge of milk to thin it out. I'll definitely be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
We added flaked coconut. MMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Snyder, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I used 3 cups of my fresh ground pastry flour, no AP flour and these turned out fabulous! The only other change I made was to sub butter for margarine because I don't touch the fake stuff. They did spread a bit due to the butter but not bad and the taste was amazing. I never expected to like WW cookies as much as regular cookies! The only change I would make for next time is to reduce the sugar a bit, I thought they were plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This review isn't for the original recipe; I followed some advice from previous posters (which had been rated as most helpful) and reduced the sugars down to 3/4 cup each and used applesauce instead of margarine. I also baked in a pan to make bars. They are not very sweet at all due to the decreased sugars; it's almost like a dense chocolate chip bread... the kids like them okay but I could definitely do without. Maybe they would have been better if I'd followed the original recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovetoeat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, although I realized as I was making it that it said "whole wheat pastry flour" and I only had whole wheat flour. I used my whole wheat flour and they turned out wonderful. I have four kids who are not into health foods, and hate wheat bread so the fact that they gobbled these down surprised me! They said, and I agreed, that they actually taste better than white flour cookies because the whole wheat gives it a little more flavor! Note: at a later date we made these with all whole wheat flour because we were out of white flour this time, they still were great, just a little chewier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Kramer Geyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
OMG, these cookies were amazing! Now, I did make a few changes - but stayed within the guidelines of this recipe. I used organic, local butter in lieu of margarine, all the other ingredients were organic as well. Although I used 1 cup of organic sugar, in place of the brown sugar I used Sucanet, and the chocolate chips I used were Sunspire Organic Grain Sweetened Dark Chocolate Chips which taste similar to semi-sweet chocolate chips, I also used all Whole Wheat Pastry Flour (no AP flour). The Sucanet created a very dark cookie - but they were so delicious! This is the first cookie I have ever made, that not only is decadently delicious, but I feel really good eating and serving. A+ recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwstdSistr72

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
YUM. Love these. I used 1/2 cup I Can't Believe It's Not Butter stick, and 1/4 cup real butter. Used about 3/4 cup of each sugar, and used about 1 1/2 cups milk chocolate chips. These came out the perfect shape and chewiness...they didn't flatten, thank goodness! The wheat flour adds great substance, and makes them feel healthier. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Excellent reviews from Molly (10), Kate (8), Amy (old-ish), and Loren (old). The whole wheat pastry flour adds a wonderful flavor and texture; perfect balance of crispy/chewey. I replaced the margarine with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by labecia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States