Whole Wheat Chocolate Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I found this loaf to be very chewy and the banana seemed to compete with the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by masterbaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Just not a fan. I love banana bread, spiced breads, and chocolate. But this combo of banana, chocolate, and spices, just did NOT work for me. Rather than combining things I love, it was none of the things I loved when combined. Didn't taste, chocolate-y, banan-y, or spicy. Just an odd combo. I gave this two stars only because I liked the texture of the bread, and might use it as the basis for something else. Please note, I followed the recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
The chocolate mixed in with the banana takes away from the banana taste and therefore didn't taste anything like Banana bread. It wasn't very tasty and quite bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
perfect balance of healthiness and taste - will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I changed up a few things. I used Splenda sugar and did not add any of the spices, I don't really care for them with chocolate. I also had low fat buttermilk, so I used that instead of milk with lemon. And put in a half cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips! Came out perfect! A keeper recipe for me. Thank you for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I really liked this recipe! The only thing I changed was the amount of nutmeg, cause I don't like that strong flavor that much. But this cake is really tasty. Will try it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HrlQuinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miraflores, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I cut the sugar to 1/4, use only egg whites, use 50/50 whole wheat to white flower and took out the unsweetened chocolate and put chips in instead. Made this last night and there is only one piece left. This is the best chocolate banana bread I've made. Will be making this again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Very yummy, and lots of chocolate goodness. The texture was a tad heavy, but the taste was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AllisonMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Umm delicious!! This is exactly what I wanted, healthy and still good tasting. I love baked breads and baked goods, but don't think they always have to be so high in oil and fat and calories. So I was very excited when I found this recipe, and even more excited when it tasted great. I love substituting wheat flour instead, you can barely taste a difference and you get about 2.5 grams of fiber in each slice this way (I calculated it like a dork), and adding the unsweetened cocoa to make it chocolately. I also add 1 cup of chocolate chips, always, to my banana bread, and this was no exception. And if you want to add maybe 1 more Tablespoon of oil that still wouldn't be too bad healthwise, but it is just fine the way it is! Also, I split into two slightly smaller loaf pans, I dont have a 9x5, and it was completely done at 40 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This is great bread! I subbed honey for the sugar and left out the nutmeg and cinnamon (they sound like weird combos with banana and chocolate!). I only baked a loaf for 45 minutes and it was perfect. Husband and 3 kids absolutely devoured it! My 5 year old was thrilled that he got "chocolate bread" for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States