Whole Wheat Chapati Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Awesome recipe! I'm a health nut but love junk food, so I use this recipe to make chips. I roll them out real thin, slice them up with a pizza roller, brush them with olive oil, then bake them 425 untill they are golden. Everyone loves them, even my not-so-health-nut boyfriend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernChiquita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Brownsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
These are very good. I just started Phase 2 of the South Beach diet and was actually looking for an easy whole wheat pizza dough recipe and happened upon this one, which works great! Before adding the oil and water, I mixed some garlic powder, Italian seasoning and Parmesan cheese in with the WW flour and salt. I rolled them about 6" in diameter and 1/8" thick and cooked them in a pan according to the instructions. I then topped one with a little pizza sauce (sugar free), veggies and mozzarella (reduced fat). Popped it in the toaster oven for a quick treat--a perfect, guilt-free reward for graduating to the next phase of the diet plan! Thanks for the recipe. I'm sure it will become a staple in my kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Awesome! The trick is to roll it thinly and use a dry pan. These are crisp and dry so plan to use them as a side bread not a wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wat2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Simple and good tasting recipe. Reminds me of home whenever I make it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I have recently stopped eating sugar, white flour and dairy products. Thanks for this. It goes great with my spanish/chickpea rice. Tasty and Healthy. Now that is a comination!! I made it yesterday and enjoyed it so much , that i will make it again today. I brushed a lil olive oil on the finished product for additional flavor! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I added an addl' 3T of water as the dough was a little dry. I rolled out each of the balls of dough with a little thickness as I like my chapati a little soft in the midle. I also cooked on high heat in order to get them to bubble up, quickly brown, and crisp. Served with butternut squash/apple curry I made from allrecipes. Very simple and yummy, will for sure make again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
Did not really work out at all. The dough never really became "firm and elastic", so I doubled the recipe with half all-purpose and half wheat flour. After that it turned out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This recipe was very good. My whole family liked them (and that takes some doing!) Quick and easy to make, rolled out nicely. I served them with my own homemade korma curry. My youngest had three and she is a picky eater. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: ???, Essex, England, U.K.
Living In: Tiptree, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I used SPELT flour, fried it in canola oil and ate the finished flatbread with salsa. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Not bad in comparison to the ease of preparation. We had garlic/lemon/parsley butter handy and the bread was much better dipped in it! Would make a good healthy filling-holder in lieu of bread, fewer calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States