Whole Wheat Carrot-Raisin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I LOVED this recipe! I used strawberry yogurt instead of vanilla and subbed applesauce for half of the vegetable oil. I also chopped some walnuts and added a few chopped apples. The combination of yogurt, applesauce and honey made these muffins the perfect combination of sweet and satisfying. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I just tried this recipe. I thought it had little flavor and heavy. You would have to put butter or jelly on Otto make it tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I have made these muffins about 4 times so far and never changed a thing! My 2 year old......and me....love em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
The recipe was very very moist.I adjusted the recipe to 1/2 because I wanted to experiment with the taste before making a full batch of muffins. I added a lttle bit more orange juice, 2 tablespoons of sour cream and a quarter cup of walnuts to the recipe. I substituted the raisons for cranberries. The baking time was 30 minutes.the muffins were yummy and very delicious and my husband loved them.I definitely plan to make a full batch of muffins and next time with my adjustment added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
The muffins were a hit at our church coffee, but I did have to tweak the recipe. The batter was extremely dry so I added a 1/2 cup more yogurt and one egg. I also used the whole orange juiced.(add some walnuts, too) I sprinkled a little cinnamon sugar on top and served with orange honey butter. Several ladies asked for the recipe, so we will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I cut the recipe in half and used white whole wheat flour. I also had to use plain yogurt sweetened with honey to taste because I discovered too late that I was out of vanilla yogurt. Because of others' reviews about the muffins being too dry, I added 1 T. unsweetened applesauce. I got exactly 7 muffins, but they did have to cook a few minutes longer. The end result was a moist, slightly sweet muffin. This certainly tastes "healthier," but since I'm trying to cut sugar and unnecessary fats, it's perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
They're good if you want a healthy snack that's not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
mixture was a bit dry, added 2 tablespoons of no sugar syrup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I love this recipe because the muffins taste hearty and healthy, but they are still sweet so that everyone can enjoy them. A note on baking soda: the first time I made these, I followed another reviewer's tip and added the baking soda after I had mixed everything else together; I don't recommend this because mine ended up tasting like baking soda - not good! The second time though, I followed the normal mixing instructions and they were perfect. Substitution notes: I didn't have vanilla yogurt so I used lemon yogurt, which worked well (probably because the recipe also calls for orange juice, and lemon is tangy like orange juice). And, I used butter instead of vegetable oil since I think butter is more natural, and of course that worked well too. UPDATE: I've since made these a third time, and I accidentally added almond extract instead of vanilla extract - and whew, they still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I added one more shredded carrot and another heaping 1/4 cup of raisins. For more orange flavor, I used orange juice CONCENTRATE instead of regular orange juice. Because the reviewers before me had issues with stiff batter, I did add a quarter cup or so (I didn't really measure, I eyeballed) of homemade applesauce. I was able to get 18 smallish muffins out of one recipe. Baked at 350*, they were done at 20 minutes. VERY moist, wonderfully chewy and very flavorful. All of us loved these muffins, even my muffin hating husband. This is one of the best muffins we've had in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States